Skip to content

GigaPlus 2.5-gigabit PCIe card on a Realtek RTL8125B, brackets both ways review

A single-socket 2.5-gigabit card on a Realtek RTL8125B with Wake on LAN, a heat sink and both brackets, that says where its drivers come from on every system but Windows 10.

What the Amazon.com listing says

The title: 2.5 Gb PCIe network card, GiGaPlus 2500 Mbps, with Realtek RTL8125B, Wake on LAN, Windows, Linux and macOS. The bullets: 2.5 times the speed of gigabit on the RTL8125B; backward compatibility to 1 Gbps and 100 Mbps, no driver needed on Windows 10 and the driver from Realtek’s site elsewhere; a 2.5GBASE-T port from a PCIe slot, ×1, ×4, ×8 or 16, not a PCI slot; a heat sink with standard and low-profile brackets; and lifetime technical support.

The shelf it sits on

CardSocketsSpeedControllerBus statedBracketsAmazon.com, October 26, 2026
VIMIN12.5GRealtek RTL8125Bfits ×1 to ×16standard and low-profile$17.98
YuanLey12.5GRealtek RTL8125Bfits ×1 to ×16standard and low-profile; heat sink$17.98
GiGaPlus12.5GBASE-TRealtek RTL8125Bfits ×1 to ×16standard and low-profile; heat sink$19.98
TP-Link TX20112.5Gnot namednot statedfull and low-profile$26.99
10Gtek X540-T2210G / 1G / 100MIntel X540PCIe 2.1 ×8standard and low-profile$49.99
DIGITUS DN-1013642.5GBASE-TRealtek RTL8125BPCIe 2.1not stated$92.07
KALEA-INFORMATIQUE22.5GBASE-Ttwo Intel I226PCIe 3.1 ×1high and low-profileno offer

The driver line

Most cards on this shelf say “easy driver download”. This one says from where: Realtek, the chip maker, rather than the seller.

Prices quoted in this text were read on October 26, 2026. The live price is at the top of the page.

Where it holds up, and where it stops

Strengths

  • Realtek RTL8125B and Wake on LAN in the title
  • A heat sink and both brackets
  • Says the driver for systems other than Windows 10 comes from Realtek's site

Compromises

  • No PCIe generation
  • The slot list ends with a bare "16"
  • $19.98 on Amazon.com on October 26, 2026, $2.00 more than the VIMIN and YuanLey cards on the same chip

Specifications

PCIe generationNot published on the listing — the third bullet lists the connectors the card goes into and gives no generation for them, and no other bullet returns to the subject
Lane countNot published on the listing as a figure for the card — the third bullet names the connectors it fits as ×1, ×4, ×8 and 16, the last of them printed without its multiplication sign, and adds that a PCI slot will not do
Port speed standard2.5GBASE-T — stated in the third bullet in that form, with the title giving 2500 Mbps and the second bullet giving backwards compatibility at 2.5 Gbps, 1 Gbps and 100 Mbps
Port countOne — the third bullet turns a PCIe connector into one 2.5G Ethernet RJ45 socket, in the singular, and the title names a single interface adapter
Controller familyRealtek RTL8125B — stated in the title and named again in the first bullet as the chip behind the speed
Bracket heights suppliedTwo — the fourth bullet names a standard bracket and a low-profile one, with computers, workstations, servers and mini-tower cases given as what they are for
Cooling arrangementA heat sink — named in the heading of the fourth bullet, with excellent heat dissipation claimed for it
Stated operating system supportWindows 11/10/8.1/8/7, macOS and Linux — stated in the title and in the second bullet, which adds that no driver is needed under Windows 10 and that the driver for other systems is downloaded from the site of the controller maker
Amazon referenceB0CHRPTYG9
EAN0790885574160
On Amazon.comAmazon.com had an offer at $20 on October 26, 2026.

The questions that come up before an order

What does driverless under Windows 10 mean here?

The second bullet says Windows 10 has the driver built in. For Windows 11, 8.1, 8, 7, macOS and Linux it points to Realtek's site, the maker of the chip.

Does it have a heat sink?

Yes: the fourth bullet is headed "Widely Use with Heat Sink" and claims excellent heat dissipation.

Our score

7.8/ 10

A clearly written RTL8125B card with Wake on LAN, a heat sink, both brackets and a straight answer on drivers, two dollars above the cheapest cards on the same chip.

Against the rest of the network and storage gear

This network and storage gear share the category and the price bracket. Only what each one states is shown; an incomplete column would mislead.

Model Price PCIe generationLane countPort speed standardPort count
GigaPlus 2.5-gigabit PCIe card on a Realtek RTL8125B, brackets both ways $20 Not published on the listing — the third bullet lists the connectors the card goes into and gives no generation for them, and no other bullet returns to the subjectNot published on the listing as a figure for the card — the third bullet names the connectors it fits as ×1, ×4, ×8 and 16, the last of them printed without its multiplication sign, and adds that a PCI slot will not do2.5GBASE-T — stated in the third bullet in that form, with the title giving 2500 Mbps and the second bullet giving backwards compatibility at 2.5 Gbps, 1 Gbps and 100 MbpsOne — the third bullet turns a PCIe connector into one 2.5G Ethernet RJ45 socket, in the singular, and the title names a single interface adapter
VIMIN 2.5G PCIe card on a Realtek RTL8125B $18 Not published on the Amazon.com listingNot published on the Amazon.com listing as a figure for the card — the fifth bullet lists the slots it fits, ×1, ×4, ×8 and ×162.5 Gbps, 1 Gbps and 100 Mbps, negotiated automatically — stated in the second bulletOne — the second bullet names the 2.5G Ethernet port in the singular
YuanLey 2.5-gigabit PCI Express card with a heatsink and three network features named $18 Not published on the listing — the third bullet names the connectors the card supports and stops there, and no generation number appears in the title or in any of the five bulletsNot published on the listing as a figure for the card — the third bullet says it supports PCIe ×1, ×4, ×8 and ×16, which describes the connectors it will sit in rather than the lanes it asks for2.5 Gbit/s over RJ45 — stated in the title as a 2.5-gigabit PCI Express Ethernet adapter at 2500 Mbps and in the first bullet as a 2.5 Gbit/s card; no BASE-T designation is printed anywhere on the pageOne — the title names a single RJ45 LAN controller card, and no bullet prints a figure or returns to the subject
TP-Link TX201, single-port 2.5-gigabit PCIe card with both brackets $27 Not published on the Amazon.com listingNot published on the Amazon.com listing — no lane figure and no list of slots appears2.5 Gigabit Ethernet, backward compatible with 1 Gbps and 100 Mbps — stated in the first and second bulletsOne — the first bullet names a 2.5 Gigabit Ethernet port in the singular

What separates the models, in network and storage gear

  • If price decides: VIMIN 2.5G PCIe card on a Realtek RTL8125B, at $18.

The buyer this one serves, among network and storage gear

A desktop moving to 2.5-gigabit where Wake on LAN and a heat sink are wanted and the driver will be fetched from Realtek on Linux or macOS.

What this one costs among network and storage gear

A reference exists on these Amazon stores: France, Germany, Italy, Spain, United Kingdom, United States. Listed is not the same as in stock — availability changes daily.

Details checked on October 26, 2026.

The network and storage gear guides it appears in

Sources

Specifications: the manufacturer sheet for network and storage gear and the matching Amazon product page. Prices and availability: Keepa. Every figure on this page names its source.

What we look at on this network and storage gear