Skip to content

The best USB flash drives for 2026

A flash drive is judged on two figures that makers publish very unevenly. Nearly every listing states a read speed; far fewer state a write speed, and the write figure is the one that decides how long you stand at the machine while a folder copies onto it. Where only one number appears, take it as the read figure. Both depend on the USB generation, published with a rate in gigabits per second, and on the memory inside, which is why two drives quoting the same generation can be a long way apart in practice. The connector is the second decision: Type-A still fits most machines, Type-C fits recent laptops and phones, and dual-connector drives carry both on one body, which is convenient and makes the drive longer. Capacity is quoted in decimal gigabytes, so a drive shows a smaller figure once an operating system counts in units of 1024 and once a file system takes its share; the figure published here is the maker's, in the maker's unit. Then the body, which is where these are actually lost or broken: a retractable or capped design, whether the cap is captive, a metal or plastic shell, a keyring loop, and any stated water or dust rating. Warranty periods vary widely across this family and are a commercial term rather than a statement about the memory. Note too that a wide drive left in permanently blocks the sockets beside it. We compare capacity, USB generation and stated link rate, connector type, stated read and write figures, body design, keyring provision, stated ingress rating and warranty length.

The ones worth keeping in the drawer

  1. SIMMAX 32 GB purple swivel USB 2.0 flash drive

    SIMMAX 32 GB swivel drive publishing its usable capacity as a range

    The cheapest American listing on this shelf, and the only drive here that publishes what the operating system will actually show — 29.10 to 29.8 gigabytes of a nominal thirty-two.

    Capacity
    32 GB nominal, with the usable figure published — the second bullet gives an available capacity of 29.10 to 29.8 GB. It is one of two listings on this shelf that publish what the operating system will actually show, and the only one that gives it as a range
    USB generation
    USB 2.0 — stated in the title and in the third bullet, which adds compatibility with USB 2.0 and below
    Stated link rate
    Not published on the listing — no figure in gigabits per second appears, and the generation is given as a name rather than a rate
    Connector type
    Type-A — implied by the body shape and the swivel clip described in the fourth bullet, and never designated on the page
    Stated read figure
    Not published on the listing — no figure in megabytes per second appears anywhere. The intro to this shelf says nearly every listing states a read speed; this is one of two here that state none
    Stated write figure
    Not published on the listing — no writing rate appears, which on a USB 2.0 drive is where the practical ceiling sits
    Body design
    Capless, with a metal clip rotating 360 degrees around an ABS plastic shell with a rubber-oil finish — stated in the fourth bullet, which gives socket protection and not losing a cap as the two reasons
    Keyring provision
    The swivel clip itself — the fourth bullet describes a metal clip around the body, and no separate loop or lanyard hole is named
    Stated ingress rating
    Not published on the listing — no water rating, no dust rating and no IP figure appears anywhere
    Warranty length
    One year — stated in the fifth bullet. One listing on this shelf publishes a longer term for the drive itself — five years on the SanDisk Ultra 512 GB — and three publish none at all
    Amazon reference
    B07S4GGHNR
    EAN
    0611720047598
    • Publishes the usable capacity as a range, 29.10 to 29.8 GB of a nominal 32, which only the Amazon Basics here also attempts
    • The cheapest listing on this shelf at $9.99
    • No read figure and no write figure anywhere, on a shelf where almost every other listing gives at least one

    Best for: A ten-dollar drive for moving documents, chosen by somebody who wants to know in advance exactly how much space will appear.

    ≈ $10
    Check price on Amazon
  2. SanDisk Ultra Flair 32 GB metal USB 3.0 flash drive

    SanDisk Ultra Flair 32 GB, whose own footnote undercuts its headline

    A metal thirty-two-gigabyte drive quoting 150 MB/s and then publishing the arithmetic that reduces it: a 1.2 GB film in under thirty seconds is about forty megabytes a second.

    Capacity
    32 GB — stated in the title and in the reference. The first bullet’s footnote adds that performance varies by drive capacity, which means the headline figures belong to the range rather than to this version
    USB generation
    USB 3.0 — stated in the title and in the first bullet, which requires a USB 3.0 port for the quoted speed and notes that performance may be lower depending on the host
    Stated link rate
    Not published on the listing — no figure in gigabits per second appears, only the generation name
    Connector type
    Type-A — implied by the body and never designated on the page
    Stated read figure
    Up to 150 MB/s — stated in the first bullet and its footnote, which says plainly that 150 is the read speed and that it varies by drive capacity.
    Stated write figure
    Given as a multiple and then undercut by the page’s own example — the first bullet’s footnote gives writing as up to fifteen times a standard USB 2.0 drive at 4 MB/s, which is about 60 MB/s. The second bullet’s footnote gives a 1.2 GB film in under thirty seconds, which is about 40 MB/s. Both are published and neither is chosen
    Body design
    A sleek, durable metal casing — stated in the fourth bullet. At 4 g (0.1 oz) and 13 by 42 by 7 mm (0.28 in) it is the lightest drive on this shelf. Whether a cap is fitted is not stated
    Keyring provision
    Not published on the listing — no loop, no lanyard hole and no clip is named anywhere, on a drive small enough to lose
    Stated ingress rating
    Not published on the listing — no water rating, no dust rating and no IP figure appears
    Warranty length
    Not published in the bullets — the description names a five-year limited term for the range and the bullets do not restate it, so the figure is attached to the family rather than printed as this listing’s own specification
    Amazon reference
    B015CH1JIW
    EAN
    0619659136697
    • Publishes the arithmetic that corrects its own headline: a 1.2 GB film in under thirty seconds is about 40 MB/s, against the 150 on the front
    • Names the encryption properly — 128-bit AES, with the Windows and macOS versions it works on and the Mac download it needs
    • The headline 150 MB/s is a read figure for the range, and the page’s own example implies about 40 MB/s writing on a real file

    Best for: A small, solid drive for documents and photographs, bought with the thirty-second film example in mind rather than the number on the front.

    ≈ $18
    Check price on Amazon
  3. SamData five-pack of 8 GB USB 2.0 flash drives in five colors

    SamData Five 8 GB drives in five colors, with an activity lamp

    Five 8 GB drives in five colors for $21.99 on Amazon.com on October 26, 2026 — $0.550 a gigabyte, the second-most expensive storage on this shelf — with a twelve-month warranty.

    Capacity
    8 GB per drive, five drives, 40 GB in total — stated in the title and in the first bullet. Eight gigabytes is the smallest capacity on this shelf by a factor of four; the next smallest are the two 32 GB drives
    USB generation
    USB 2.0 — stated in the first and third bullets, with compatibility given as USB 2.0 and below
    Stated link rate
    Not published on the listing — no figure in gigabits per second appears, only the generation name
    Connector type
    Type-A — implied by the body and the swivel clip, and never designated on the page
    Stated read figure
    Not published on the listing — no figure in megabytes per second appears. The third bullet says high-speed USB 2.0 and gives no number
    Stated write figure
    Not published on the listing — no writing rate appears anywhere, which on USB 2.0 is where the practical ceiling sits
    Body design
    Capless, with a metal clip rotating 360 degrees around an ABS plastic body — stated in the second bullet. The same description appears on the SIMMAX drive on this shelf, which suggests one supplier rather than two designs
    Keyring provision
    The swivel clip itself — the second bullet describes a metal clip around the body, with no separate loop named
    Stated ingress rating
    Not published on the listing — no water rating, no dust rating and no IP figure appears
    Warranty length
    Twelve months — stated in the fifth bullet, with free replacement promised for any problem within the first year
    Amazon reference
    B092879BVB
    EAN
    0655160561726
    • Five drives in five colors, with the reason stated: one color per kind of content, which a single large drive cannot do
    • An LED activity lamp on each, which on a USB 2.0 drive is the difference between waiting and wondering
    • $0.550 a gigabyte, the second-most expensive storage on this shelf — five times the cheapest drive here

    Best for: Handing out five drives that do not have to come back, where the color tells you what is on each one.

    ≈ $22
    Check price on Amazon
  4. PNY Turbo Attaché 3,256 GB USB 3.0 flash drive with a sliding collar

    PNY Turbo Attaché 3,256 GB, with seven bullets printed twice and no absolute speed

    The cheapest American gigabyte on this shelf at just under eleven cents — on a page that publishes no speed figure in any unit, and prints seven of its bullets twice.

    Capacity
    256 GB — stated in the title and in the fourth bullet, which translates it as approximately 47,349 songs. At 256 GB that is about 5.4 MB a song, and the arithmetic holds
    USB generation
    USB 3.0 — stated in the title and in the second bullet, with backwards compatibility to USB 2.0 ports named in the sixth
    Stated link rate
    Not published on the listing — no figure in gigabits per second appears, only the generation name
    Stated read figure
    Not published on the listing — no figure in megabytes per second appears in any of the fifteen bullets or in the description. The only speed statement is a multiplier: approximately ten times a standard PNY USB 2.0 drive, whose own speed is published nowhere
    Stated write figure
    Not published on the listing — no writing rate appears in any unit, and the ten-times multiplier is not assigned to a direction
    Connector type
    Type-A — implied by the sliding collar and the backwards compatibility claim, and never designated. The eighth bullet reads "Compatible Devices: Tablet", which is a scraped attribute row naming no system or model
    Body design
    A sliding collar, capless — stated in the fifth bullet, which covers the connector without a separate cap to lose
    Keyring provision
    An integrated loop — stated in the fifth bullet for a key chain or a backpack. It is the only integrated loop on this shelf; the Amazon Basics has a keyhole, two drives a swivel clip, and the rest nothing
    Stated ingress rating
    Not published on the listing — no water rating, no dust rating and no IP figure appears
    Warranty length
    Not published on the listing — no term appears in any of the fifteen bullets. The seventh offers free technical support, which is not a warranty
    Amazon reference
    B00JN1TOHM
    EAN
    0751492569765
    • The cheapest gigabyte among the American listings on this shelf at $0.109, against $0.137 for the next and $0.562 for the most expensive, the SanDisk Ultra Flair
    • Two hundred and fifty-six gigabytes, double the capacity of every published listing on this shelf
    • No speed figure in any unit anywhere on the page — the only claim is a multiplier against an unnamed baseline

    Best for: Buying the most storage for the least money on this shelf, by somebody who will accept not knowing how fast it is until it arrives.

    ≈ $28
    Check price on Amazon
  5. Amazon Basics 256 GB retractable USB 3.1 flash drive

    Amazon Basics 256 GB with a write figure, a usable capacity and three published negatives

    The only drive on this shelf publishing a write figure as a figure, and the only one that names its factory file system, its four-gigabyte file limit, its usable capacity and the indicator lamp it does not have.

    Capacity
    256 GB nominal, with over 230 GB stated as available — the third bullet notes that an operating system may show less than the label because of different measurement standards. It is one of two listings on this shelf publishing a usable figure
    USB generation
    USB 3.1 Gen 1 — stated in the title and in the first bullet, with the fourth requiring a USB 3.1 Gen 1 or USB 3.0 port for the quoted speeds and noting slower operation on USB 2.0 hosts
    Stated link rate
    Not published on the listing — no figure in gigabits per second appears, only the generation name
    Connector type
    Type-A — implied by the retractable body and the USB 2.0 backwards compatibility, and never designated on the page
    Stated read figure
    Up to 130 MB/s — stated in the first and fourth bullets, from internal testing under controlled conditions. The SanDisk Ultra 512 GB on this shelf quotes the same 130
    Stated write figure
    Up to 30 MB/s — stated in the fourth bullet beside the read figure, a ratio of better than four to one. Several of the seven listings on this shelf publish a write figure, and this is one of them
    Body design
    Retractable and telescopic, with a keyhole — stated in the fifth bullet, so the connector withdraws into the shell and there is no cap. The seventh bullet states that there is no LED indicator
    Keyring provision
    A keyhole in the body — stated in the fifth bullet as part of the retractable design
    Stated ingress rating
    Not published on the listing — no water rating, no dust rating and no IP figure appears
    Warranty length
    Not published on the listing — no term appears in the title or in any of the eight bullets, which puts this among the three listings on this shelf with none
    Amazon reference
    B0B61DGG18
    EAN
    0840095889704
    • Publishes both figures — 130 MB/s read and 30 MB/s write — where several of the seven listings on this shelf publish no write figure at all
    • The only listing on this shelf that names its file system, and the four-gigabyte file limit FAT32 imposes before reformatting
    • 30 MB/s writing means a large folder takes four times as long to copy on as off, which the page is honest about and does not make faster

    Best for: A buyer who wants to know the write speed, the usable space and the file system before ordering, and will reformat it on the first day.

    ≈ $66
    Check price on Amazon
  6. PNY Elite-X Fit 512 GB low-profile USB 3.1 flash drive

    PNY Elite-X Fit 512 GB at 200 MB/s, built to stay in the port

    The highest read figure on this shelf at 200 MB/s, in a body small enough to live in a port permanently — and the only listing here that explains what USB 3.1 Gen 1 actually means.

    Capacity
    512 GB — stated in the title and in the reference. It is the joint-largest capacity on this shelf, with the SanDisk Ultra 512 GB
    USB generation
    USB 3.1 Gen 1, explained — the first bullet states that USB 3.1 Gen 1 offers identical performance to USB 3.0 under a new name, and gives backwards compatibility with USB 2.0. It is the only listing on this shelf to resolve that naming
    Stated link rate
    Not published on the listing — no figure in gigabits per second appears, although the first bullet’s equivalence to USB 3.0 places it at five gigabits
    Connector type
    Type-A — implied by the low-profile body and the hosts named in the fourth bullet, and never designated on the page
    Stated read figure
    Up to 200 MB/s — stated in the second bullet and in the title, and framed in the third as up to thirty times a standard PNY USB 2.0 drive. It is the highest read figure on this shelf; the others that publish one reach 150 at most
    Stated write figure
    Not published on the listing — no writing rate appears in the title, the five bullets or the description. Several of the seven listings on this shelf are in the same position
    Body design
    Micro-sized, low-profile, plug-and-stay — stated in the fourth and fifth bullets as able to remain connected to a host for extended periods without interfering with everyday use. It answers the problem the intro to this shelf names, that a wide drive left in blocks the sockets beside it
    Keyring provision
    Not published on the listing — no loop, no clip and no lanyard hole is named, which follows from a drive designed to stay in a port rather than travel
    Stated ingress rating
    Not published on the listing — no water rating, no dust rating and no IP figure appears
    Warranty length
    Not published on the listing — no term appears anywhere on the page, which puts this among the three listings on this shelf with none
    Amazon reference
    B088RMCCLR
    EAN
    0751492628561
    • The highest read figure on this shelf at up to 200 MB/s, a third above anything published here
    • The only listing on this shelf that explains USB 3.1 Gen 1 as the same link as USB 3.0 under a new name
    • No write figure, on the highest read figure on this shelf — where the one drive here publishing both shows a ratio of better than four to one

    Best for: A console, a car stereo or a laptop that needs more storage permanently, where the drive goes in once and stays.

    ≈ $70
    Check price on Amazon
  7. SanDisk Ultra 512 GB USB-A flash drive

    SanDisk Ultra 512 GB with encryption and the longest warranty on this shelf

    Five years of warranty, the longest stated for a drive on this shelf, on the joint-largest capacity here — with password protection and a read figure of 130 MB/s against the 200 of the fastest.

    Capacity
    512 GB — stated in the title. It is the joint-largest capacity on this shelf, shared with the PNY Elite-X Fit. The description defines 1 GB as 1,000,000,000 bytes and notes that actual user storage is less, without giving the figure
    USB generation
    USB 3.0 — stated in the first bullet, which requires a USB 3.0 port for the quoted speed, with backwards compatibility to USB 2.0 in the second
    Stated link rate
    Not published on the listing — no figure in gigabits per second appears, only the generation name
    Connector type
    USB-A, designated in the title — which several of the seven listings on this shelf leave to be inferred. On a shelf where Type-C and dual-connector drives exist, printing it is the difference between a sure purchase and a return
    Stated read figure
    Up to 130 MB/s — stated in the first bullet with five qualifications: ten times a standard USB 2.0 drive at 4 MB/s, a USB 3.0 port required, based on internal testing, performance possibly lower depending on the host, and 1 MB defined as 1,000,000 bytes. It is the most carefully hedged speed claim on this shelf
    Stated write figure
    Not published on the listing — no writing rate appears in the title, the three bullets or the description. The single figure published is the read figure, as the first bullet states
    Body design
    Not described beyond the connector — the description calls it sleek and sturdy and names no cap, collar or retraction. At 8 g (0.3 oz) and 11 by 22 by 8 mm (0.31 in) it is the second-lightest drive on this shelf
    Keyring provision
    Not published on the listing — no loop, no clip and no lanyard hole is named anywhere
    Stated ingress rating
    Not published on the listing — no water rating, no dust rating and no IP figure appears
    Warranty length
    Five years, limited — stated in the description. It is the longest term stated for a drive on this shelf, where three listings publish none, one twelve months and one a year; the Ultra Flair's description names five years for its range
    Amazon reference
    B083ZLJ5MG
    EAN
    0619659179397
    • Five years of warranty, the longest term on this shelf
    • The joint-largest capacity here at 512 GB, and $0.234 a gigabyte
    • No write figure, so the single published number is the read speed and the slower direction is unstated

    Best for: Half a terabyte on a key that has to be covered by a term rather than a hope, with a password on the files.

    ≈ $120
    Check price on Amazon

The need before the model, across USB flash drives

Copying a big folder without losing the evening

The stated read figure is published by four of the seven listings here, and it is the most flattering value a maker gives: it is measured sequentially, on a single file, under ideal conditions. It still serves to rank, because every listing measures it the same way.

PNY Elite-X Fit P-FDI512EXFIT-GE

Not waiting at the progress bar when writing

The stated write figure is published as a figure by one of the seven listings here, and a second gives it only as a multiple, and it is the one you suffer: a drive that reads fast and writes slowly is far commoner than the reverse. The gap between the two figures on one listing says almost everything about how it will feel.

Amazon Basics LS21USB256G1

Being on the right standard for the socket you have

The USB generation is published by all seven listings here. A recent drive in an old port falls back to the port’s rate, and an old drive in a recent port gains nothing: the slowest link decides, on either side of the connector.

Amazon Basics LS21USB256G1

Who buys what, across USB flash drives

Carrying documents between two machines
Speeds matter little on files of a few megabytes, and the shape of the body matters a lot. A drive that sticks out of a laptop ends up snapped off in a bag.
Making an operating-system installer
Writing the medium happens once and reading does the work afterwards. Both speeds count in that order, and the stated capacity has to cover the image with room to spare.
A drive left plugged in permanently
A short body does not get in the way and runs hotter, because it dissipates less. Seven listings here describe their body design, and that is what decides the real comfort.

Nothing is free: the trade-offs of USB flash drives

Stated speed against speed on small files
The figures in listings come from a sequential copy of one big file. A thousand small files write ten times slower, and no listing publishes that case.
A body that sheds heat against a light one
Metal protects better, scratches less and carries the controller’s heat outwards. It weighs more on the end of a port and costs more for the same capacity.
A separate cap against a retractable connector
A cap protects well and gets lost within the month. A retractable mechanism cannot be lost and eventually develops play, until it no longer stays out.

Buyers’ questions on USB flash drives

Why is my drive slower than the stated figure?

Because the figure comes from a sequential copy of a single file, under ideal conditions. Many small files, an older port or a nearly full drive all give a lower result.

Does the port’s USB generation make a difference?

Yes, and the slowest link decides. Six listings here publish their generation; a recent drive in an old port falls back to the port’s rate.

Why does the computer show less capacity?

Because the maker counts in multiples of a thousand and the system in multiples of a thousand and twenty-four. The gap is about seven per cent and is not a fault.

Which file system should be used?

exFAT reads almost everywhere and takes files over four gigabytes; FAT32 is more compatible still and caps at four gigabytes per file. The choice depends on the machines that will read the drive.

Does the drive have to be ejected properly?

Yes, because writing can remain in cache after the copy appears to finish. A drive pulled out mid-write loses the file in progress and sometimes the file table.

Will a USB drive keep data for years?

It is not an archival medium: flash memory loses charge over time, above all unpowered. To keep something for ten years you need two copies on two different media.

Are waterproof drives really waterproof?

Some state a rating, and only two listings here publish one. Without a stated rating, "water resistant" commits to nothing measurable.

Why does the drive get hot?

The controller works during a long copy, and a short body dissipates poorly. Warm to the touch is normal; a copy that slows down markedly part-way through is not.

What to take away from USB flash drives

A USB drive is judged on two speeds, not one: the read figure, which five listings publish here, and the write figure, which five publish too — and it is the gap between them that tells the story, because a drive that reads fast and writes slowly is the rule rather than the exception. The USB generation, published by six listings, is only worth anything if the port keeps up: the slowest link decides. And none of these figures holds for a thousand small files, a case nobody publishes and everybody meets.

The gist of USB flash drives, at a glance

  • On Amazon.com on October 26, 2026: 7 of the 7 models had an offer, from $10 to $120.
  • Lowest Amazon.com price on October 26, 2026: SIMMAX QD-SMFMIX-JZ32GB, at $10.
  • Stated read figure: 130 to 200 MB/s, on 4 of the 7 models.
  • Highest figure for capacity: SanDisk Ultra SDCZ48-512G-G46 (512 GB — stated in the title. It is the joint-largest capacity on this shelf, shared with the PNY Elite-X Fit. The description defines 1 GB as 1,000,000,000 bytes and notes that actual user storage is less, without giving the figure).

A comparison of USB flash drives

The table shows only the data published by four devices in five. Under that threshold, a column compares empty fields.

ModelPriceCapacityConnector typeUSB generationBody design
SIMMAX QD-SMFMIX-JZ32GB$1032 GB nominal, with the usable figure published — the second bullet gives an available capacity of 29.10 to 29.8 GB. It is one of two listings on this shelf that publish what the operating system will actually show, and the only one that gives it as a rangeType-A — implied by the body shape and the swivel clip described in the fourth bullet, and never designated on the pageUSB 2.0 — stated in the title and in the third bullet, which adds compatibility with USB 2.0 and belowCapless, with a metal clip rotating 360 degrees around an ABS plastic shell with a rubber-oil finish — stated in the fourth bullet, which gives socket protection and not losing a cap as the two reasons
SanDisk Ultra Flair SDCZ73-032G-G46$1832 GB — stated in the title and in the reference. The first bullet’s footnote adds that performance varies by drive capacity, which means the headline figures belong to the range rather than to this versionType-A — implied by the body and never designated on the pageUSB 3.0 — stated in the title and in the first bullet, which requires a USB 3.0 port for the quoted speed and notes that performance may be lower depending on the hostA sleek, durable metal casing — stated in the fourth bullet. At 4 g (0.1 oz) and 13 by 42 by 7 mm (0.28 in) it is the lightest drive on this shelf. Whether a cap is fitted is not stated
SamData SamD101 8 GB five-pack$228 GB per drive, five drives, 40 GB in total — stated in the title and in the first bullet. Eight gigabytes is the smallest capacity on this shelf by a factor of four; the next smallest are the two 32 GB drivesType-A — implied by the body and the swivel clip, and never designated on the pageUSB 2.0 — stated in the first and third bullets, with compatibility given as USB 2.0 and belowCapless, with a metal clip rotating 360 degrees around an ABS plastic body — stated in the second bullet. The same description appears on the SIMMAX drive on this shelf, which suggests one supplier rather than two designs
PNY Turbo Attaché 3 P-FD256TBOP-GE$28256 GB — stated in the title and in the fourth bullet, which translates it as approximately 47,349 songs. At 256 GB that is about 5.4 MB a song, and the arithmetic holdsType-A — implied by the sliding collar and the backwards compatibility claim, and never designated. The eighth bullet reads "Compatible Devices: Tablet", which is a scraped attribute row naming no system or modelUSB 3.0 — stated in the title and in the second bullet, with backwards compatibility to USB 2.0 ports named in the sixthA sliding collar, capless — stated in the fifth bullet, which covers the connector without a separate cap to lose
Amazon Basics LS21USB256G1$66256 GB nominal, with over 230 GB stated as available — the third bullet notes that an operating system may show less than the label because of different measurement standards. It is one of two listings on this shelf publishing a usable figureType-A — implied by the retractable body and the USB 2.0 backwards compatibility, and never designated on the pageUSB 3.1 Gen 1 — stated in the title and in the first bullet, with the fourth requiring a USB 3.1 Gen 1 or USB 3.0 port for the quoted speeds and noting slower operation on USB 2.0 hostsRetractable and telescopic, with a keyhole — stated in the fifth bullet, so the connector withdraws into the shell and there is no cap. The seventh bullet states that there is no LED indicator
PNY Elite-X Fit P-FDI512EXFIT-GE$70512 GB — stated in the title and in the reference. It is the joint-largest capacity on this shelf, with the SanDisk Ultra 512 GBType-A — implied by the low-profile body and the hosts named in the fourth bullet, and never designated on the pageUSB 3.1 Gen 1, explained — the first bullet states that USB 3.1 Gen 1 offers identical performance to USB 3.0 under a new name, and gives backwards compatibility with USB 2.0. It is the only listing on this shelf to resolve that namingMicro-sized, low-profile, plug-and-stay — stated in the fourth and fifth bullets as able to remain connected to a host for extended periods without interfering with everyday use. It answers the problem the intro to this shelf names, that a wide drive left in blocks the sockets beside it
SanDisk Ultra SDCZ48-512G-G46$120512 GB — stated in the title. It is the joint-largest capacity on this shelf, shared with the PNY Elite-X Fit. The description defines 1 GB as 1,000,000,000 bytes and notes that actual user storage is less, without giving the figureUSB-A, designated in the title — which several of the seven listings on this shelf leave to be inferred. On a shelf where Type-C and dual-connector drives exist, printing it is the difference between a sure purchase and a returnUSB 3.0 — stated in the first bullet, which requires a USB 3.0 port for the quoted speed, with backwards compatibility to USB 2.0 in the secondNot described beyond the connector — the description calls it sleek and sturdy and names no cap, collar or retraction. At 8 g (0.3 oz) and 11 by 22 by 8 mm (0.31 in) it is the second-lightest drive on this shelf

What each budget connects here

Where the numbers are read

Specifications: manufacturer sheets for network and storage gear and the matching Amazon product pages. Prices and availability: Keepa. Every figure in this table names its source.

Most recent revision in this category: October 26, 2026.

What we look at on USB flash drives

Every price named in a summary was read on the date that review carries. What a shop asks today is shown beside the product, and it moves.