Skip to content

TP-Link TX201, single-port 2.5-gigabit PCIe card with both brackets review

A single-socket 2.5-gigabit card whose Amazon.com page names its brackets and its operating systems in four short bullets, and never its controller, PCIe generation or lane count.

What the Amazon.com listing says

The title: TP-Link 2.5 Gbps LAN card, PCI-E, TX201. The four bullets: a 2.5 Gigabit Ethernet port for local transfers and games; backward compatibility with 1 Gbps and 100 Mbps; low-profile and full brackets; and Windows 11 to 7, Windows Server 2022 to 2008 R2 and Linux. The description reads “TX201”.

The shelf it sits on

CardSocketsSpeedControllerBus statedBracketsAmazon.com, October 26, 2026
VIMIN12.5GRealtek RTL8125Bfits ×1 to ×16standard and low-profile$17.98
YuanLey12.5GRealtek RTL8125Bfits ×1 to ×16standard and low-profile; heat sink$17.98
GiGaPlus12.5GBASE-TRealtek RTL8125Bfits ×1 to ×16standard and low-profile; heat sink$19.98
TP-Link TX20112.5Gnot namednot statedfull and low-profile$26.99
10Gtek X540-T2210G / 1G / 100MIntel X540PCIe 2.1 ×8standard and low-profile$49.99
DIGITUS DN-1013642.5GBASE-TRealtek RTL8125BPCIe 2.1not stated$92.07
KALEA-INFORMATIQUE22.5GBASE-Ttwo Intel I226PCIe 3.1 ×1high and low-profileno offer

The price

$26.99 on October 26, 2026, $9.01 more than the VIMIN and YuanLey cards, which name their controller and the slots they fit.

Prices quoted in this text were read on October 26, 2026. The live price is at the top of the page.

Where it holds up, and where it stops

Strengths

  • Full and low-profile brackets
  • A clear operating system list, Windows Server included
  • A known brand

Compromises

  • No controller, PCIe generation or lane count named
  • Four short bullets and a two-word description
  • $26.99 on Amazon.com on October 26, 2026, $9.01 more than the VIMIN and YuanLey cards

Specifications

PCIe generationNot published on the Amazon.com listing
Lane countNot published on the Amazon.com listing — no lane figure and no list of slots appears
Port speed standard2.5 Gigabit Ethernet, backward compatible with 1 Gbps and 100 Mbps — stated in the first and second bullets
Port countOne — the first bullet names a 2.5 Gigabit Ethernet port in the singular
Controller familyNot published on the Amazon.com listing — no chip is named
Bracket heights suppliedTwo — the third bullet names a low-profile bracket and a full one
Cooling arrangementNot published on the Amazon.com listing
Stated operating system supportWindows 11, 10, 8.1, 8 and 7, Windows Server 2022, 2019, 2016, 2012 R2, 2012 and 2008 R2, and Linux — stated in the fourth bullet
Amazon referenceB0BHW6BX7Y
EAN4897098687833
On Amazon.comAmazon.com had an offer at $27 on October 26, 2026.

The questions that come up before an order

Which chip does it use?

The listing does not say. The VIMIN, YuanLey and GiGaPlus cards on this shelf name the Realtek RTL8125B.

Does it fit a slim case?

Yes: the third bullet says a low-profile bracket is supplied as well as the full one.

Our score

7.4/ 10

A plain 2.5-gigabit card with its brackets and operating systems stated. The cheaper RTL8125B cards here say more about what is on the board.

Against the rest of the network and storage gear

This network and storage gear share the category and the price bracket. Only what each one states is shown; an incomplete column would mislead.

Model Price PCIe generationLane countPort speed standardPort count
TP-Link TX201, single-port 2.5-gigabit PCIe card with both brackets $27 Not published on the Amazon.com listingNot published on the Amazon.com listing — no lane figure and no list of slots appears2.5 Gigabit Ethernet, backward compatible with 1 Gbps and 100 Mbps — stated in the first and second bulletsOne — the first bullet names a 2.5 Gigabit Ethernet port in the singular
GigaPlus 2.5-gigabit PCIe card on a Realtek RTL8125B, brackets both ways $20 Not published on the listing — the third bullet lists the connectors the card goes into and gives no generation for them, and no other bullet returns to the subjectNot published on the listing as a figure for the card — the third bullet names the connectors it fits as ×1, ×4, ×8 and 16, the last of them printed without its multiplication sign, and adds that a PCI slot will not do2.5GBASE-T — stated in the third bullet in that form, with the title giving 2500 Mbps and the second bullet giving backwards compatibility at 2.5 Gbps, 1 Gbps and 100 MbpsOne — the third bullet turns a PCIe connector into one 2.5G Ethernet RJ45 socket, in the singular, and the title names a single interface adapter
VIMIN 2.5G PCIe card on a Realtek RTL8125B $18 Not published on the Amazon.com listingNot published on the Amazon.com listing as a figure for the card — the fifth bullet lists the slots it fits, ×1, ×4, ×8 and ×162.5 Gbps, 1 Gbps and 100 Mbps, negotiated automatically — stated in the second bulletOne — the second bullet names the 2.5G Ethernet port in the singular
YuanLey 2.5-gigabit PCI Express card with a heatsink and three network features named $18 Not published on the listing — the third bullet names the connectors the card supports and stops there, and no generation number appears in the title or in any of the five bulletsNot published on the listing as a figure for the card — the third bullet says it supports PCIe ×1, ×4, ×8 and ×16, which describes the connectors it will sit in rather than the lanes it asks for2.5 Gbit/s over RJ45 — stated in the title as a 2.5-gigabit PCI Express Ethernet adapter at 2500 Mbps and in the first bullet as a 2.5 Gbit/s card; no BASE-T designation is printed anywhere on the pageOne — the title names a single RJ45 LAN controller card, and no bullet prints a figure or returns to the subject

What separates the models, in network and storage gear

  • If price decides: VIMIN 2.5G PCIe card on a Realtek RTL8125B, at $18.

The buyer this one serves, among network and storage gear

A desktop or a slim case moving to 2.5-gigabit, where a known brand and Windows Server support are wanted.

What this one costs among network and storage gear

A reference exists on these Amazon stores: France, Germany, Italy, Spain, United Kingdom, United States. Listed is not the same as in stock — availability changes daily.

Details checked on October 26, 2026.

The network and storage gear guides it appears in

Sources

Specifications: the manufacturer sheet for network and storage gear and the matching Amazon product page. Prices and availability: Keepa. Every figure on this page names its source.

What we look at on this network and storage gear