Skip to content

Western Digital WD Red Plus 12 TB review

The only drive on this shelf that publishes how its workload rating is calculated, with the largest cache here, and the most expensive terabyte on the shelf.

What the Amazon.com listing says

The title: WD Red Plus 12 TB, 7200 rpm, SATA 6 GB/s, CMR, 512 MB cache, 3.5-inch, WD120EFBX. The bullets: the range spans 1 to 14 TB, with support for up to 8 bays; up to 180 TB a year workload rate, with its formula; NASware firmware; testing for compatibility with NAS systems in a 24x7 environment; and a three-year limited warranty. The description names RAID rebuilding on ZFS and other file systems.

The shelf it sits on

DriveCapacityrpmCacheRecordingWorkloadMTBFWarrantyAmazon.com, October 26, 2026
WD Red Plus4 TB5400128 MBCMR——not stated$194.99, $48.75 a TB
Seagate IronWolf4 TB540064 MBCMR—1 million h3 years + 3 of Rescue$260.00, $65.00 a TB
Ultrastar DC HC310 (renewed)4 TB7200256 MB + NVCCMR550 TB/yr2 million hnot statedno offer
HGST MegaScale DC (refurbished)4 TB570064 MBnot stated—800,000 hnot statedno US listing
Seagate IronWolf8 TB7200256 MBCMR—1 million hnot stated$499.99, $62.50 a TB
WD Red Plus12 TB7200512 MBCMR180 TB/yr—3 years$789.00, $65.75 a TB
Seagate IronWolf Pro14 TBnot stated256 MBCMR300 TB/yr1.2 million h5 years + 3 of Rescue$631.00, $45.07 a TB

A rating with its arithmetic

The second bullet defines the workload rate as user data transferred, annualized by power-on hours. Two other drives here give a bare rating — 300 TB a year on the IronWolf Pro, 550 on the renewed Ultrastar — and none gives the formula.

The price

$789.00 on October 26, 2026, $65.75 a terabyte, the most expensive storage on this shelf. The 14 TB IronWolf Pro cost $158.00 less for two more terabytes and a five-year warranty.

Prices quoted in this text were read on October 26, 2026. The live price is at the top of the page.

Where it holds up, and where it stops

Strengths

  • The only listing here that publishes the formula behind its workload rating, 180 TB a year
  • 7200 rpm, CMR and 512 MB of cache, the largest on this shelf, all in the title
  • A three-year limited warranty, stated

Compromises

  • $65.75 a terabyte on Amazon.com on October 26, 2026, the most expensive on this shelf; the 14 TB IronWolf Pro cost $158.00 less
  • No MTBF, which five other drives here publish
  • The title prints the interface as 6 GB/s, gigabytes where SATA III is six gigabits

Specifications

Capacity12 TB — printed in the title, in the maker’s unit, and reported here in that unit without conversion. The first bullet also prints 1-14 TB, which is the span of the range rather than this drive
Recording methodCMR — printed in the title
Stated workload ratingUp to 180 TB a year, with the calculation published — the second bullet defines the rate as user data transferred to or from the drive, annualized as terabytes transferred multiplied by 8760 divided by the recorded power-on hours. It is the only listing on this shelf that publishes the formula behind its own figure. A workload rating is the duty the drive is specified for, not a countdown
Rotational speed7200 rpm — printed in the title, as on the 8 TB IronWolf and the renewed Ultrastar; the two 4 TB drives with a US listing print 5400
Cache size512 MB — printed in the title, the largest on this shelf; the next is 256 MB
InterfaceSATA, published two ways and not consistently — the title prints "SATA 6 GB/s" in gigabytes and the first bullet prints "Data Transfer Rate:6Gbps" in gigabits. SATA III runs at 6 gigabits per second, so the two differ by a factor of eight and the page never resolves them
Warranty lengthThree years, limited — stated in the fifth bullet. A warranty is a commercial term and is neither the workload rating above it nor a statement about how long the drive will run
Stated MTBFNot published on the listing — no figure in hours appears, where five other drives on this shelf give one
Stated idle powerNot published on the listing — no figure in watts appears anywhere on the page
Stated acoustic figureNot published on the listing — no decibel value appears, and vibration is addressed through the NASware firmware named in the third bullet rather than through a figure
Amazon referenceB08V1L1WYD
EAN0718037886190
On Amazon.comAmazon.com had an offer at $789 on October 26, 2026.

Where this unit differs

Put against the median of its own group on this site — not against every network product sold.

  • Capacity12 TB — printed in the title, in the maker’s unit, and reported here in that unit without conversion. The first bullet also prints 1-14 TB, which is the span of the range rather than this drive+200 % against the median of this group
  • Cache size512 MB — printed in the title, the largest on this shelf; the next is 256 MB+100 % against the median of this group
  • Rotational speed7200 rpm — printed in the title, as on the 8 TB IronWolf and the renewed Ultrastar; the two 4 TB drives with a US listing print 5400+26 % against the median of this group

The questions that come up before an order

How is the workload rate calculated?

The second bullet gives it: terabytes transferred to or from the drive, annualized as TB transferred × (8760 / recorded power-on hours). A drive switched on all year and moving 180 TB is at its rating.

Why does it cost more than the 14 TB IronWolf Pro?

On October 26, 2026 it cost $789.00 against $631.00. The page offers 7200 rpm stated and twice the cache; the IronWolf Pro offers two more terabytes, five years of warranty, an MTBF and a higher workload rating.

Against the rest of the network and storage gear

This network and storage gear share the category and the price bracket. Only what each one states is shown; an incomplete column would mislead.

Model Price CapacityRecording methodStated workload ratingRotational speed
Western Digital WD Red Plus 12 TB $789 12 TB — printed in the title, in the maker’s unit, and reported here in that unit without conversion. The first bullet also prints 1-14 TB, which is the span of the range rather than this driveCMR — printed in the titleUp to 180 TB a year, with the calculation published — the second bullet defines the rate as user data transferred to or from the drive, annualized as terabytes transferred multiplied by 8760 divided by the recorded power-on hours. It is the only listing on this shelf that publishes the formula behind its own figure. A workload rating is the duty the drive is specified for, not a countdown7200 rpm — printed in the title, as on the 8 TB IronWolf and the renewed Ultrastar; the two 4 TB drives with a US listing print 5400
Seagate IronWolf Pro 14 TB $631 14 TB — printed in the title and in the second bullet, in the maker’s unit and reported here unchanged. It is the largest capacity on this shelfCMR — printed in the title. Conventional recording writes tracks side by side rather than overlapping them, so changing data does not force neighboring tracks to be rewritten, which is what decides how a rebuild behaves in a large array300 TB a year — stated in the description rather than in any bullet, alongside twenty-four-seven accessibility. It is the duty the drive is specified for and not a quota that runs down. A buyer reading only the bullets would not find itNot published on the listing — no rpm figure appears in the title, the bullets or the description; the second bullet gives speeds up to 250 MB/s instead. The 8 TB IronWolf on this shelf prints 7200 rpm in its title
Seagate IronWolf 8 TB $500 8 TB — printed in the title and in the second bullet, in the maker’s unit and reported here unchangedCMR — printed in the title. Conventional recording writes tracks side by side and does not rewrite neighbors when data changes, which is what decides how an array rebuild behavesNot published on the listing as a figure in terabytes a year — the first bullet gives an enclosure ceiling of up to eight bays and several users, which is a deployment limit rather than an annual duty. Three other drives on this shelf publish a rating7200 rpm — printed in the title, as on the WD Red Plus 12 TB and the renewed Ultrastar; the 4 TB IronWolf and the 4 TB WD Red Plus here print 5400
Seagate IronWolf 4 TB (ST4000VN006) $260 4 TB — printed in the title. The second bullet also prints 16 TB, which is the ceiling of the IronWolf range and not this driveCMR — printed in the titleNot published on the listing as a figure in terabytes per year — the first bullet gives an enclosure ceiling of eight bays and several users, which is a deployment limit rather than an annual duty5400 rpm — printed in the title; the description gives speeds up to 180 MB/s

What separates the models, in network and storage gear

  • If price decides: Seagate IronWolf 4 TB (ST4000VN006), at $260.
  • Highest Capacity in the table: Seagate IronWolf Pro 14 TB (14 TB — printed in the title and in the second bullet, in the maker’s unit and reported here unchanged. It is the largest capacity on this shelf).

The buyer this one serves, among network and storage gear

An eight-bay NAS or smaller rebuilding large arrays, where 7200 rpm, a large cache and a published workload figure are wanted.

What this one costs among network and storage gear

Details checked on October 26, 2026.

The network and storage gear guides it appears in

What buyers actually choose

Amazon reports what buyers took in the month before this page was last checked: at least 50.

The figure is a floor, rounded by Amazon, and read through Keepa — it says what buyers picked, not what a maker claims.

Sources

Specifications: the manufacturer sheet for network and storage gear and the matching Amazon product page. Prices and availability: Keepa. Every figure on this page names its source.

What we look at on this network and storage gear