Skip to content

Seagate IronWolf 8 TB review

An eight-terabyte, 7200 rpm CMR drive that publishes an operating temperature range nothing else here gives, and no warranty term at all where its four-terabyte sibling names three years.

What the Amazon.com listing says

The title: IronWolf 8 TB, CMR, 3.5-inch, SATA 6 Gb/s, 7200 rpm, 256 MB cache. The bullets: up to 8 bays for multi-user NAS; 8 TB and cache of up to 256 MB; less wear, little noise and vibration; IronWolf Health Management and 1 million hours MTBF; and a note that available capacity may vary. The description adds speeds up to 210 MB/s and an operating temperature of 5 to 70 °C.

The shelf it sits on

DriveCapacityrpmCacheRecordingWorkloadMTBFWarrantyAmazon.com, October 26, 2026
WD Red Plus4 TB5400128 MBCMR——not stated$194.99, $48.75 a TB
Seagate IronWolf4 TB540064 MBCMR—1 million h3 years + 3 of Rescue$260.00, $65.00 a TB
Ultrastar DC HC310 (renewed)4 TB7200256 MB + NVCCMR550 TB/yr2 million hnot statedno offer
HGST MegaScale DC (refurbished)4 TB570064 MBnot stated—800,000 hnot statedno US listing
Seagate IronWolf8 TB7200256 MBCMR—1 million hnot stated$499.99, $62.50 a TB
WD Red Plus12 TB7200512 MBCMR180 TB/yr—3 years$789.00, $65.75 a TB
Seagate IronWolf Pro14 TBnot stated256 MBCMR300 TB/yr1.2 million h5 years + 3 of Rescue$631.00, $45.07 a TB

The warranty that is not there

Seagate’s 4 TB IronWolf on this shelf states three years plus three years of data recovery; the 14 TB IronWolf Pro states five. This page states none, which is the line to settle with the seller before ordering.

The price

$499.99 on October 26, 2026, or $62.50 a terabyte — between the 4 TB IronWolf at $65.00 and the 14 TB IronWolf Pro at $45.07.

Prices quoted in this text were read on October 26, 2026. The live price is at the top of the page.

Where it holds up, and where it stops

Strengths

  • CMR, 7200 rpm and 256 MB of cache, all in the title
  • A transfer rate of up to 210 MB/s in the description
  • An operating temperature range of 5 to 70 °C, the only one on this shelf
  • A 1 million hour MTBF

Compromises

  • No warranty term anywhere on the page, where the 4 TB IronWolf here states three years plus three of data recovery
  • No workload rating in terabytes a year
  • $62.50 a terabyte on Amazon.com on October 26, 2026, against $45.07 for the 14 TB IronWolf Pro

Specifications

Capacity8 TB — printed in the title and in the second bullet, in the maker’s unit and reported here unchanged
Recording methodCMR — printed in the title. Conventional recording writes tracks side by side and does not rewrite neighbors when data changes, which is what decides how an array rebuild behaves
Stated workload ratingNot published on the listing as a figure in terabytes a year — the first bullet gives an enclosure ceiling of up to eight bays and several users, which is a deployment limit rather than an annual duty. Three other drives on this shelf publish a rating
Rotational speed7200 rpm — printed in the title, as on the WD Red Plus 12 TB and the renewed Ultrastar; the 4 TB IronWolf and the 4 TB WD Red Plus here print 5400
Cache size256 MB — printed plainly in the title as the model’s figure. The second bullet gives the same number as "cache of up to 256MB", in the form of a ceiling, which is the less useful of the two statements
InterfaceSATA at 6 Gb/s — printed in the title, in gigabits, which is the correct unit for SATA III
Warranty lengthNot published on the listing — no term of any length appears in the title, in the five bullets or in the description. The four-terabyte IronWolf published on this shelf states three years and adds three years of a recovery service
Stated MTBF1 million hours — stated in the fourth bullet alongside the maker’s drive health monitoring. It is a population statistic in hours: not a lifespan, and on this page not a warranty either, since none is given
Stated idle powerNot published on the listing — the third bullet and the description both claim lower power consumption and neither prints a figure in watts
Stated acoustic figureNot published on the listing — the third bullet promises little to no noise or vibration with no decibel value. The description gives an operating temperature range of 5 to 70 °C (41 to 158 °F) instead, which nothing else on this shelf publishes
Amazon referenceB07D962J5R
EAN0763649128237
On Amazon.comAmazon.com had an offer at $500 on October 26, 2026.

Where this unit differs

Put against the median of its own group on this site — not against every network product sold.

  • Capacity8 TB — printed in the title and in the second bullet, in the maker’s unit and reported here unchanged+100 % against the median of this group
  • Rotational speed7200 rpm — printed in the title, as on the WD Red Plus 12 TB and the renewed Ultrastar; the 4 TB IronWolf and the 4 TB WD Red Plus here print 5400+26 % against the median of this group
  • Stated MTBF1 million hours — stated in the fourth bullet alongside the maker’s drive health monitoring. It is a population statistic in hours: not a lifespan, and on this page not a warranty either, since none is given-17 % against the median of this group

The questions that come up before an order

What warranty does it have?

The listing does not say. The 4 TB IronWolf on this shelf states three years with three years of Rescue data recovery; this page states no term at all.

Is 7200 rpm better for a NAS than 5400?

It reads and writes faster, up to 210 MB/s here against 180 MB/s for the 5400 rpm 4 TB IronWolf, at the cost of more heat and noise. Over a gigabit network, which carries about 118 MB/s, either is faster than the link.

Against the rest of the network and storage gear

This network and storage gear share the category and the price bracket. Only what each one states is shown; an incomplete column would mislead.

Model Price CapacityRecording methodStated workload ratingRotational speed
Seagate IronWolf 8 TB $500 8 TB — printed in the title and in the second bullet, in the maker’s unit and reported here unchangedCMR — printed in the title. Conventional recording writes tracks side by side and does not rewrite neighbors when data changes, which is what decides how an array rebuild behavesNot published on the listing as a figure in terabytes a year — the first bullet gives an enclosure ceiling of up to eight bays and several users, which is a deployment limit rather than an annual duty. Three other drives on this shelf publish a rating7200 rpm — printed in the title, as on the WD Red Plus 12 TB and the renewed Ultrastar; the 4 TB IronWolf and the 4 TB WD Red Plus here print 5400
Seagate IronWolf Pro 14 TB $631 14 TB — printed in the title and in the second bullet, in the maker’s unit and reported here unchanged. It is the largest capacity on this shelfCMR — printed in the title. Conventional recording writes tracks side by side rather than overlapping them, so changing data does not force neighboring tracks to be rewritten, which is what decides how a rebuild behaves in a large array300 TB a year — stated in the description rather than in any bullet, alongside twenty-four-seven accessibility. It is the duty the drive is specified for and not a quota that runs down. A buyer reading only the bullets would not find itNot published on the listing — no rpm figure appears in the title, the bullets or the description; the second bullet gives speeds up to 250 MB/s instead. The 8 TB IronWolf on this shelf prints 7200 rpm in its title
Seagate IronWolf 4 TB (ST4000VN006) $260 4 TB — printed in the title. The second bullet also prints 16 TB, which is the ceiling of the IronWolf range and not this driveCMR — printed in the titleNot published on the listing as a figure in terabytes per year — the first bullet gives an enclosure ceiling of eight bays and several users, which is a deployment limit rather than an annual duty5400 rpm — printed in the title; the description gives speeds up to 180 MB/s
Western Digital WD Red Plus 12 TB $789 12 TB — printed in the title, in the maker’s unit, and reported here in that unit without conversion. The first bullet also prints 1-14 TB, which is the span of the range rather than this driveCMR — printed in the titleUp to 180 TB a year, with the calculation published — the second bullet defines the rate as user data transferred to or from the drive, annualized as terabytes transferred multiplied by 8760 divided by the recorded power-on hours. It is the only listing on this shelf that publishes the formula behind its own figure. A workload rating is the duty the drive is specified for, not a countdown7200 rpm — printed in the title, as on the 8 TB IronWolf and the renewed Ultrastar; the two 4 TB drives with a US listing print 5400

What separates the models, in network and storage gear

  • If price decides: Seagate IronWolf 4 TB (ST4000VN006), at $260.
  • Highest Capacity in the table: Seagate IronWolf Pro 14 TB (14 TB — printed in the title and in the second bullet, in the maker’s unit and reported here unchanged. It is the largest capacity on this shelf).

The buyer this one serves, among network and storage gear

An eight-bay NAS or smaller where 7200 rpm and 8 TB per drive are wanted — once the warranty has been confirmed with the seller.

What this one costs among network and storage gear

Details checked on October 26, 2026.

The network and storage gear guides it appears in

Sources

Specifications: the manufacturer sheet for network and storage gear and the matching Amazon product page. Prices and availability: Keepa. Every figure on this page names its source.

What we look at on this network and storage gear