Skip to content

Seagate IronWolf 4 TB (ST4000VN006) review

A four-terabyte, 5400 rpm CMR drive that publishes its cache, a transfer rate, an MTBF and a three-year warranty with data recovery — and no workload rating.

What the Amazon.com listing says

The title: IronWolf 4 TB, CMR, 3.5-inch, SATA 6 Gb/s, 5400 rpm, 64 MB cache, ST4000VN006. The bullets: up to 8 bays for multi-user NAS; capacity up to 16 TB and cache up to 256 MB across the range; less wear, little noise and vibration; IronWolf Health Management and 1 million hours MTBF; and a three-year limited warranty with three years of Rescue Data Recovery. The description adds speeds up to 180 MB/s and lower power consumption.

The shelf it sits on

DriveCapacityrpmCacheRecordingWorkloadMTBFWarrantyAmazon.com, October 26, 2026
WD Red Plus4 TB5400128 MBCMR——not stated$194.99, $48.75 a TB
Seagate IronWolf4 TB540064 MBCMR—1 million h3 years + 3 of Rescue$260.00, $65.00 a TB
Ultrastar DC HC310 (renewed)4 TB7200256 MB + NVCCMR550 TB/yr2 million hnot statedno offer
HGST MegaScale DC (refurbished)4 TB570064 MBnot stated—800,000 hnot statedno US listing
Seagate IronWolf8 TB7200256 MBCMR—1 million hnot stated$499.99, $62.50 a TB
WD Red Plus12 TB7200512 MBCMR180 TB/yr—3 years$789.00, $65.75 a TB
Seagate IronWolf Pro14 TBnot stated256 MBCMR300 TB/yr1.2 million h5 years + 3 of Rescue$631.00, $45.07 a TB

What the warranty covers, and what Rescue adds

The warranty replaces the drive; the Rescue service attempts to recover the data from it. Of the three 4 TB drives on this shelf with a US listing, this is the only one with a term written down.

The price

$260.00 on October 26, 2026, $65.00 a terabyte — $65.01 more than the 4 TB WD Red Plus, which prints more cache and no warranty term.

Prices quoted in this text were read on October 26, 2026. The live price is at the top of the page.

Where it holds up, and where it stops

Strengths

  • CMR, 5400 rpm and 64 MB of cache in the title, and up to 180 MB/s in the description
  • Three years of warranty with three years of Rescue data recovery
  • A 1 million hour MTBF and a stated ceiling of eight bays

Compromises

  • No workload rating in terabytes a year
  • $65.00 a terabyte on Amazon.com on October 26, 2026, against $48.75 for the 4 TB WD Red Plus
  • The second bullet mixes the range ceilings, 16 TB and 256 MB, with this drive's figures

Specifications

Capacity4 TB — printed in the title. The second bullet also prints 16 TB, which is the ceiling of the IronWolf range and not this drive
Recording methodCMR — printed in the title
Stated workload ratingNot published on the listing as a figure in terabytes per year — the first bullet gives an enclosure ceiling of eight bays and several users, which is a deployment limit rather than an annual duty
Rotational speed5400 rpm — printed in the title; the description gives speeds up to 180 MB/s
Cache size64 MB — printed in the title. The second bullet's "up to 256MB" is the range ceiling
InterfaceSATA at 6 Gb/s — printed in the title
Warranty lengthThree years — stated in the fifth bullet as a limited product warranty, with three years of a data recovery service supplied alongside it. The two terms run to the same length and are named separately
Stated MTBF1 million hours — stated in the fourth bullet, beside a drive health monitoring feature named by the maker. It is a population statistic in hours, and it is neither the warranty term above it nor a lifespan
Stated idle powerNot published on the listing — no figure in watts appears in the title or in the five bullets
Stated acoustic figureNot published on the listing as a figure — the third bullet promises little to no noise and vibration, which is a claim without a decibel value behind it
Amazon referenceB09NHV3CK9
EAN0763649173817
On Amazon.comAmazon.com had an offer at $260 on October 26, 2026.

Where this unit differs

Put against the median of its own group on this site — not against every network product sold.

  • Cache size64 MB — printed in the title. The second bullet's "up to 256MB" is the range ceiling-75 % against the median of this group
  • Capacity4 TB — printed in the title. The second bullet also prints 16 TB, which is the ceiling of the IronWolf range and not this drive-50 % against the median of this group
  • Rotational speed5400 rpm — printed in the title; the description gives speeds up to 180 MB/s-25 % against the median of this group

The questions that come up before an order

What does the Rescue service add?

Three years of Seagate's data recovery service, stated alongside the three-year warranty. A warranty replaces a failed drive; a recovery service tries to get the data back from it.

Why is it dearer than the 4 TB WD Red Plus?

On October 26, 2026 it cost $260.00 against $194.99. What the extra buys on the page is a stated warranty, a recovery service and an MTBF, which the WD listing does not give; the WD has 128 MB of cache to this drive's 64 MB.

Our score

7.8/ 10

A plain, fully titled 4 TB NAS drive — CMR, 5400 rpm, 64 MB — with the warranty and recovery service written down. It costs $65.01 more than the 4 TB WD Red Plus on this date, and those written terms are what the difference buys.

Against the rest of the network and storage gear

This network and storage gear share the category and the price bracket. Only what each one states is shown; an incomplete column would mislead.

Model Price CapacityRecording methodStated workload ratingRotational speed
Seagate IronWolf 4 TB (ST4000VN006) $260 4 TB — printed in the title. The second bullet also prints 16 TB, which is the ceiling of the IronWolf range and not this driveCMR — printed in the titleNot published on the listing as a figure in terabytes per year — the first bullet gives an enclosure ceiling of eight bays and several users, which is a deployment limit rather than an annual duty5400 rpm — printed in the title; the description gives speeds up to 180 MB/s
Western Digital Red Plus 4 TB (WD40EFZZ), 5400 rpm $195 4 TB — printed in the title, in the maker’s unit, and reported here in that unit without conversionCMR — printed in the titleNot published on the listing — the third bullet names continuous operation and no annual figure in terabytes follows5400 rpm — printed in the title
Seagate IronWolf 8 TB $500 8 TB — printed in the title and in the second bullet, in the maker’s unit and reported here unchangedCMR — printed in the title. Conventional recording writes tracks side by side and does not rewrite neighbors when data changes, which is what decides how an array rebuild behavesNot published on the listing as a figure in terabytes a year — the first bullet gives an enclosure ceiling of up to eight bays and several users, which is a deployment limit rather than an annual duty. Three other drives on this shelf publish a rating7200 rpm — printed in the title, as on the WD Red Plus 12 TB and the renewed Ultrastar; the 4 TB IronWolf and the 4 TB WD Red Plus here print 5400
Seagate IronWolf Pro 14 TB $631 14 TB — printed in the title and in the second bullet, in the maker’s unit and reported here unchanged. It is the largest capacity on this shelfCMR — printed in the title. Conventional recording writes tracks side by side rather than overlapping them, so changing data does not force neighboring tracks to be rewritten, which is what decides how a rebuild behaves in a large array300 TB a year — stated in the description rather than in any bullet, alongside twenty-four-seven accessibility. It is the duty the drive is specified for and not a quota that runs down. A buyer reading only the bullets would not find itNot published on the listing — no rpm figure appears in the title, the bullets or the description; the second bullet gives speeds up to 250 MB/s instead. The 8 TB IronWolf on this shelf prints 7200 rpm in its title

What separates the models, in network and storage gear

  • If price decides: Western Digital Red Plus 4 TB (WD40EFZZ), 5400 rpm, at $195.
  • Highest Capacity in the table: Seagate IronWolf Pro 14 TB (14 TB — printed in the title and in the second bullet, in the maker’s unit and reported here unchanged. It is the largest capacity on this shelf).

The buyer this one serves, among network and storage gear

A two- or four-bay home NAS where a stated warranty and a data recovery service matter more than the lowest price per terabyte.

What this one costs among network and storage gear

A reference exists on these Amazon stores: France, Germany, Italy, Spain, United Kingdom, United States. Listed is not the same as in stock — availability changes daily.

Details checked on October 26, 2026.

The network and storage gear guides it appears in

What buyers actually choose

Amazon reports what buyers took in the month before this page was last checked: at least 2,000.

The figure is a floor, rounded by Amazon, and read through Keepa — it says what buyers picked, not what a maker claims.

Sources

Specifications: the manufacturer sheet for network and storage gear and the matching Amazon product page. Prices and availability: Keepa. Every figure on this page names its source.

What we look at on this network and storage gear