Skip to content

Seagate IronWolf Pro 14 TB review

The largest capacity, the longest warranty and the highest bay ceiling on this shelf, and the cheapest terabyte among the new drives here at $45.07 on Amazon.com on October 26, 2026 — on a page that publishes no rotational speed.

What the Amazon.com listing says

The title: IronWolf Pro 14 TB, CMR, 3.5-inch, SATA 6 Gb/s, 256 MB cache, ST14000NEZ008. The bullets: up to 24 bays in multi-user NAS servers; speeds up to 250 MB/s; less wear, little noise and vibration, lower power and protection on power loss; IronWolf Health Management and 1.2 million hours MTBF; and a five-year limited warranty with three years of Rescue Data Recovery. The description adds a 300 TB a year workload rate and rotational vibration sensors.

The shelf it sits on

DriveCapacityrpmCacheRecordingWorkloadMTBFWarrantyAmazon.com, October 26, 2026
WD Red Plus4 TB5400128 MBCMR——not stated$194.99, $48.75 a TB
Seagate IronWolf4 TB540064 MBCMR—1 million h3 years + 3 of Rescue$260.00, $65.00 a TB
Ultrastar DC HC310 (renewed)4 TB7200256 MB + NVCCMR550 TB/yr2 million hnot statedno offer
HGST MegaScale DC (refurbished)4 TB570064 MBnot stated—800,000 hnot statedno US listing
Seagate IronWolf8 TB7200256 MBCMR—1 million hnot stated$499.99, $62.50 a TB
WD Red Plus12 TB7200512 MBCMR180 TB/yr—3 years$789.00, $65.75 a TB
Seagate IronWolf Pro14 TBnot stated256 MBCMR300 TB/yr1.2 million h5 years + 3 of Rescue$631.00, $45.07 a TB

The cheapest terabyte, and the longest warranty

At $631.00 on October 26, 2026, fourteen terabytes cost $45.07 each — less than any other new drive here, including the 4 TB WD Red Plus at $48.75. The five-year warranty is the longest on the shelf, and it is the only figure in the list above that anyone can hold the maker to: MTBF and workload rate describe a fleet and a duty, not this drive.

The missing rpm

The 8 TB IronWolf prints 7200 rpm in its title; this one, from the same maker, prints a transfer rate instead. For a NAS the transfer rate is the more useful number. The rpm would still say something about noise and heat.

Before ordering

Check that the enclosure takes 14 TB drives, and buy the drives for an array together, from the same batch where possible.

Prices quoted in this text were read on October 26, 2026. The live price is at the top of the page.

Where it holds up, and where it stops

Strengths

  • 14 TB, the largest capacity on this shelf, with CMR printed in the title
  • $45.07 a terabyte on Amazon.com on October 26, 2026, the cheapest storage among the new drives here
  • Five years of warranty with three years of data recovery, the longest term on this shelf
  • A 300 TB a year workload rating, a 1.2 million hour MTBF and a bay ceiling of 24, where the other drives that state one say eight

Compromises

  • No rotational speed anywhere on the page, only a transfer rate of up to 250 MB/s
  • The workload rating sits in the description, not in the bullets
  • 256 MB of cache, half the 512 MB of the WD Red Plus 12 TB

Specifications

Capacity14 TB — printed in the title and in the second bullet, in the maker’s unit and reported here unchanged. It is the largest capacity on this shelf
Recording methodCMR — printed in the title. Conventional recording writes tracks side by side rather than overlapping them, so changing data does not force neighboring tracks to be rewritten, which is what decides how a rebuild behaves in a large array
Stated workload rating300 TB a year — stated in the description rather than in any bullet, alongside twenty-four-seven accessibility. It is the duty the drive is specified for and not a quota that runs down. A buyer reading only the bullets would not find it
Rotational speedNot published on the listing — no rpm figure appears in the title, the bullets or the description; the second bullet gives speeds up to 250 MB/s instead. The 8 TB IronWolf on this shelf prints 7200 rpm in its title
Cache size256 MB — printed in the title. The WD Red Plus 12 TB on this shelf gives 512 MB
InterfaceSATA at 6 Gb/s — printed in the title, in gigabits, which is the correct unit for SATA III
Warranty lengthFive years limited, with three years of Rescue Data Recovery Services — stated in the fifth bullet and the description. It is the longest term on this shelf; two drives here give three years and four give no term
Stated MTBF1.2 million hours — stated in the fourth bullet with the maker’s health monitoring named. It is a population statistic in hours, describing a fleet rather than this drive, and it is not the warranty term beside it
Stated idle powerNot published on the listing — the third bullet and the description both claim lower power consumption and neither gives a figure in watts
Stated acoustic figureNot published on the listing — the third bullet offers little to no noise or vibration with no decibel value. Rotational vibration sensors are named in the description instead, which is a mechanism rather than a measurement
Amazon referenceB07H57WY2Z
EAN8719706014441
On Amazon.comAmazon.com had an offer at $631 on October 26, 2026.

Where this unit differs

Put against the median of its own group on this site — not against every network product sold.

  • Capacity14 TB — printed in the title and in the second bullet, in the maker’s unit and reported here unchanged. It is the largest capacity on this shelf+250 % against the median of this group
  • Stated MTBF1.2 million hours — stated in the fourth bullet with the maker’s health monitoring named. It is a population statistic in hours, describing a fleet rather than this drive, and it is not the warranty term beside it+20 % against the median of this group

The questions that come up before an order

How does it compare with the 12 TB WD Red Plus on this shelf?

On October 26, 2026 it cost $158.00 less for two more terabytes, with a five-year warranty against three, a published MTBF the WD lacks, a 300 TB a year rating against 180 and a 24-bay ceiling against 8. The WD prints 7200 rpm and 512 MB of cache; this one prints no rpm and 256 MB.

Why does the rotational speed matter if the transfer rate is given?

It mostly does not, for a NAS: up to 250 MB/s is the result the rpm helps produce. The rpm still says something about noise and heat, which the page leaves to the buyer to find.

Against the rest of the network and storage gear

This network and storage gear share the category and the price bracket. Only what each one states is shown; an incomplete column would mislead.

Model Price CapacityRecording methodStated workload ratingRotational speed
Seagate IronWolf Pro 14 TB $631 14 TB — printed in the title and in the second bullet, in the maker’s unit and reported here unchanged. It is the largest capacity on this shelfCMR — printed in the title. Conventional recording writes tracks side by side rather than overlapping them, so changing data does not force neighboring tracks to be rewritten, which is what decides how a rebuild behaves in a large array300 TB a year — stated in the description rather than in any bullet, alongside twenty-four-seven accessibility. It is the duty the drive is specified for and not a quota that runs down. A buyer reading only the bullets would not find itNot published on the listing — no rpm figure appears in the title, the bullets or the description; the second bullet gives speeds up to 250 MB/s instead. The 8 TB IronWolf on this shelf prints 7200 rpm in its title
Seagate IronWolf 8 TB $500 8 TB — printed in the title and in the second bullet, in the maker’s unit and reported here unchangedCMR — printed in the title. Conventional recording writes tracks side by side and does not rewrite neighbors when data changes, which is what decides how an array rebuild behavesNot published on the listing as a figure in terabytes a year — the first bullet gives an enclosure ceiling of up to eight bays and several users, which is a deployment limit rather than an annual duty. Three other drives on this shelf publish a rating7200 rpm — printed in the title, as on the WD Red Plus 12 TB and the renewed Ultrastar; the 4 TB IronWolf and the 4 TB WD Red Plus here print 5400
Western Digital WD Red Plus 12 TB $789 12 TB — printed in the title, in the maker’s unit, and reported here in that unit without conversion. The first bullet also prints 1-14 TB, which is the span of the range rather than this driveCMR — printed in the titleUp to 180 TB a year, with the calculation published — the second bullet defines the rate as user data transferred to or from the drive, annualized as terabytes transferred multiplied by 8760 divided by the recorded power-on hours. It is the only listing on this shelf that publishes the formula behind its own figure. A workload rating is the duty the drive is specified for, not a countdown7200 rpm — printed in the title, as on the 8 TB IronWolf and the renewed Ultrastar; the two 4 TB drives with a US listing print 5400
Seagate IronWolf 4 TB (ST4000VN006) $260 4 TB — printed in the title. The second bullet also prints 16 TB, which is the ceiling of the IronWolf range and not this driveCMR — printed in the titleNot published on the listing as a figure in terabytes per year — the first bullet gives an enclosure ceiling of eight bays and several users, which is a deployment limit rather than an annual duty5400 rpm — printed in the title; the description gives speeds up to 180 MB/s

What separates the models, in network and storage gear

  • If price decides: Seagate IronWolf 4 TB (ST4000VN006), at $260.
  • Highest Capacity in the table: this model (14 TB — printed in the title and in the second bullet, in the maker’s unit and reported here unchanged. It is the largest capacity on this shelf).
  • This model holds the table’s highest figure for Capacity.

The buyer this one serves, among network and storage gear

A NAS of any size, up to 24 bays, where the largest drive, the longest warranty and the lowest price per terabyte on this shelf all point the same way.

What this one costs among network and storage gear

Details checked on October 26, 2026.

The network and storage gear guides it appears in

What buyers actually choose

Amazon reports what buyers took in the month before this page was last checked: at least 50.

The figure is a floor, rounded by Amazon, and read through Keepa — it says what buyers picked, not what a maker claims.

Sources

Specifications: the manufacturer sheet for network and storage gear and the matching Amazon product page. Prices and availability: Keepa. Every figure on this page names its source.

What we look at on this network and storage gear