Skip to content

NETGEAR GS308EP, eight-socket managed switch with all sockets powered review

The only managed switch on this shelf: eight PoE+ sockets with per-port power control, VLANs and QoS, a 62 W budget and a fanless metal case — $59.99 on Amazon.com on October 26, 2026.

What the Amazon.com listing says

The title: NETGEAR 8-port PoE gigabit Ethernet Easy Smart Managed switch (GS308EP). The bullets: eight 1.0 Gbps ports with auto-negotiation; eight PoE+ ports with a 62 W budget, uninterrupted PoE and per-port PoE controls; an interface to configure VLANs, QoS, port monitoring and security; a compact metal design for desk or wall; and a fanless design with IEEE 802.3az. The description names VoIP phones, IP cameras and access points.

The shelf it sits on

SwitchSocketsPoweredPer socketTotalCoolingAmazon.com, October 26, 2026
YuanLey YS2080G-P8830 W120 Wfanless$45.98
NICGIGA GS0822P12, two of them SFP830 W120 Wfan$49.99
NETGEAR GS308EP (managed)88not stated62 Wfanless$59.99
VIMIN 18-port181630 W250 Wnot stated$93.49
GiGaPlus GP-GS1602P1816not stated250 Wnot stated$99.99
TP-Link TL-SG116P161630 W120 Wnot stated$119.00
MokerLink POE-G162G181630 W250 Wfan$119.99
Mercusys MS108GP8730 W65 Wnot statedno offer
UGREEN 10-port10830 W60 Wnot statedno offer

Every switch here is gigabit and names IEEE 802.3af/at, except the NETGEAR, which says PoE+ without the standard’s number.

Managed, on a small budget

Every other switch here is plug and play. This one can be configured — VLANs to separate cameras from computers, QoS to favour voice, power cycling per socket — which is why it costs more than the YuanLey at 120 W.

Prices quoted in this text were read on October 26, 2026. The live price is at the top of the page.

Where it holds up, and where it stops

Strengths

  • The only managed switch here: VLANs, QoS, port monitoring and per-port PoE control
  • Fanless metal case for desk or wall
  • $59.99 on Amazon.com on October 26, 2026

Compromises

  • 62 W shared by eight sockets
  • PoE+ without the IEEE number and without a per-socket ceiling
  • No socket set aside as an uplink

Specifications

PoE standard supportedNot published on the Amazon.com listing as an IEEE number — the sockets are called PoE+; the only 802.3 standard printed is 802.3az, for energy efficiency
Per-port power budgetNot published on the Amazon.com listing — per-port PoE controls are named without a ceiling
Total power budget62 W — stated in the second bullet and the description
Powered port countEight — stated in the second bullet as eight PoE+ ports
Port countEight — stated in the first bullet as eight 1.0 Gbps ports
Port speed1.0 Gbps with auto-negotiation, over Cat5e or Cat6 — stated in the first bullet
Managed or unmanagedManaged — Easy Smart Managed, with VLANs, QoS, port monitoring and network security in the third bullet, and uninterrupted PoE and per-port PoE controls in the second
Uplink typeNot published on the Amazon.com listing — all eight sockets are counted together and carry power
CoolingFanless — stated in the fifth bullet, with IEEE 802.3az Energy Efficient Ethernet
Amazon referenceB08MBFLMDC on Amazon.com (GS308EP-100NAS); B08LZJ2H9S on the European stores
EAN0606449153040
On Amazon.comAmazon.com had an offer at $60 on October 26, 2026.

The questions that come up before an order

What does per-port PoE control allow?

Turning power on or off on one socket from the management interface — to reboot a frozen camera or access point remotely, for instance.

Is 62 W enough?

For two or three access points or four low-power cameras. Eight devices at 15 W each would ask 120 W, nearly twice the budget.

Our score

8.2/ 10

The only managed switch on this shelf, with the useful management features named and a fanless metal case. The 62 W budget is the limit to plan around.

The buyer this one serves, among network and storage gear

A small office or a home lab that wants VLANs and per-port power control for a few cameras, phones or access points.

What this one costs among network and storage gear

A reference exists on these Amazon stores: France, Germany, Italy, Spain, United Kingdom, United States. Listed is not the same as in stock — availability changes daily.

Details checked on October 26, 2026.

The network and storage gear guides it appears in

Sources

Specifications: the manufacturer sheet for network and storage gear and the matching Amazon product page. Prices and availability: Keepa. Every figure on this page names its source.

What we look at on this network and storage gear