Skip to content

MERCUSYS MS108GP, eight-socket gigabit switch with seven powered sockets review

A gigabit switch that powers seven of its eight sockets and states both halves of the power question — 30 W at one socket, 65 W for all — in an Amazon.com description that is the whole page.

Buying it in the United States

Amazon.com listed it on October 26, 2026, but no current offer passed our price check, so no price is quoted. The Amazon.com page exists, but nobody was selling the unit; a listing in that state is often a third-party import.

Models on this shelf that Amazon.com did sell on that date:

What the Amazon.com listing says

The title: TP-LINK MS108GP 8-port gigabit desktop switch with 7-port PoE+. There are no bullets. The description: 8 × 10/100/1000 Mbps RJ45 ports; seven PoE+ ports; up to 30 W per PoE port and 65 W for all; Extend mode to 250 m; a one-click isolation mode; compatibility with IEEE 802.3af/at devices; a metal casing for heat dissipation; plug and play; and a five-year warranty.

The shelf it sits on

SwitchSocketsPoweredPer socketTotalCoolingAmazon.com, October 26, 2026
YuanLey YS2080G-P8830 W120 Wfanless$45.98
NICGIGA GS0822P12, two of them SFP830 W120 Wfan$49.99
NETGEAR GS308EP (managed)88not stated62 Wfanless$59.99
VIMIN 18-port181630 W250 Wnot stated$93.49
GiGaPlus GP-GS1602P1816not stated250 Wnot stated$99.99
TP-Link TL-SG116P161630 W120 Wnot stated$119.00
MokerLink POE-G162G181630 W250 Wfan$119.99
Mercusys MS108GP8730 W65 Wnot statedno offer
UGREEN 10-port10830 W60 Wnot statedno offer

Every switch here is gigabit and names IEEE 802.3af/at, except the NETGEAR, which says PoE+ without the standard’s number.

65 W, shared

The per-socket ceiling is what one device can draw; the total is what all of them share. Two access points at 25 W leave 15 W for the other five sockets.

Availability

Amazon.com listed the MS108GP on October 26, 2026, but no current offer passed our price check, so no price is quoted.

Prices quoted in this text were read on October 26, 2026. The live price is at the top of the page.

Where it holds up, and where it stops

Strengths

  • Both power figures stated: 30 W per socket, 65 W in total
  • Extend mode to 250 m and a one-click isolation mode
  • A five-year warranty, stated in the description

Compromises

  • The Amazon.com page is a title and one description, with the brand given as TP-LINK in the title
  • 65 W shared by seven sockets is two cameras at full PoE+ power
  • No current Amazon.com offer passed our price check on October 26, 2026

Specifications

PoE standard supportedIEEE 802.3af and 802.3at — the description says it works with powered devices compliant with both
Per-port power budgetUp to 30 W at one PoE socket — stated in the description
Total power budget65 W for all PoE sockets together — stated in the description
Powered port countSeven — stated in the title and the description
Port countEight — 8 × 10/100/1000 Mbps RJ45, stated in the description
Port speed10/100/1000 Mbps on all eight sockets — stated in the description
Managed or unmanagedNot published on the Amazon.com listing as either word — the description names plug and play and a one-click isolation mode
Uplink typeNot published on the Amazon.com listing — the eighth, unpowered socket is not designated as an uplink
CoolingNot published on the Amazon.com listing as fanless — the description names a durable metal casing for heat dissipation
Amazon referenceB0C3D21DKJ
EAN6957939001209
On Amazon.comAmazon.com listed it on October 26, 2026, but no current offer passed our price check, so no price is quoted.

The questions that come up before an order

How many devices can it power?

As many as fit in 65 W: seven 802.3af devices at their 15.4 W maximum would ask 108 W, so a mix of low-power cameras and phones is what fits. Two 30 W devices take almost all of it.

Why does the title say TP-LINK?

Mercusys is a TP-Link brand; the listing's brand field is Mercusys and its title says TP-LINK.

Our score

7.6/ 10

A small PoE+ switch with its power figures, its Extend mode and a five-year warranty stated, on a one-paragraph Amazon.com page. 65 W shared is the figure to plan around.

The buyer this one serves, among network and storage gear

A small camera or access-point setup — a few low-power devices — behind a router, where a five-year warranty matters.

What this one costs among network and storage gear

A reference exists on these Amazon stores: France, Germany, Italy, Spain, United Kingdom, United States. Listed is not the same as in stock — availability changes daily.

Details checked on October 26, 2026.

Sources

Specifications: the manufacturer sheet for network and storage gear and the matching Amazon product page. Prices and availability: Keepa. Every figure on this page names its source.

What we look at on this network and storage gear