The per-port budget and the total budget are two different numbers · review
TP-Link TL-SG116P, sixteen-socket switch with every socket powered review
A sixteen-socket gigabit switch that powers every socket from a shared 120 W, with Extend, Priority and Isolation modes and a three-year warranty — $119.00 on Amazon.com on October 26, 2026.
The title: TP-Link TL-SG116P, 16-port gigabit PoE switch. The bullets: 16 PoE+ (802.3at/af) 10/100/1000 Mbps ports, up to 30 W per port and 120 W in total; Extend mode to 250 m at 10 Mbps; Priority mode on ports 1 to 4; Isolation mode; PoE Auto Recovery (configuration required); and a three-year warranty. The description: a 16-port gigabit desktop switch with 16 PoE+ ports.
The shelf it sits on
Switch
Sockets
Powered
Per socket
Total
Cooling
Amazon.com, October 26, 2026
YuanLey YS2080G-P
8
8
30 W
120 W
fanless
$45.98
NICGIGA GS0822P
12, two of them SFP
8
30 W
120 W
fan
$49.99
NETGEAR GS308EP (managed)
8
8
not stated
62 W
fanless
$59.99
VIMIN 18-port
18
16
30 W
250 W
not stated
$93.49
GiGaPlus GP-GS1602P
18
16
not stated
250 W
not stated
$99.99
TP-Link TL-SG116P
16
16
30 W
120 W
not stated
$119.00
MokerLink POE-G162G
18
16
30 W
250 W
fan
$119.99
Mercusys MS108GP
8
7
30 W
65 W
not stated
no offer
UGREEN 10-port
10
8
30 W
60 W
not stated
no offer
Every switch here is gigabit and names IEEE 802.3af/at, except the NETGEAR, which says PoE+ without the standard’s number.
Sixteen sockets, 120 watts
The same 120 W as the eight-socket YuanLey, spread over twice the sockets. Sixteen cameras at 7 W fit; four access points at 25 W take nearly all of it.
Prices quoted in this text were read on October 26, 2026. The live price is at the top of the page.
Where it holds up, and where it stops
Strengths
Sixteen powered sockets, 30 W each, 120 W in total
Extend mode to 250 m, Priority mode on ports 1 to 4, Isolation mode
PoE Auto Recovery and a three-year warranty
Compromises
120 W shared by sixteen sockets is 7.5 W each if all are in use
No cooling statement on the US page
PoE Auto Recovery needs configuration, by the page's own note
Specifications
PoE standard supported
IEEE 802.3at and 802.3af — stated in the first bullet
Per-port power budget
Up to 30 W per port — stated in the first bullet
Total power budget
120 W — stated in the first bullet
Powered port count
Sixteen — every socket, stated in the first bullet
Port count
Sixteen — stated in the title and the first bullet
Port speed
10/100/1000 Mbps — stated in the first bullet; 10 Mbps in Extend mode
Managed or unmanaged
Not published on the Amazon.com listing as either word — Extend, Priority and Isolation modes are named, and PoE Auto Recovery is marked "Configuration Required"
Uplink type
Not published on the Amazon.com listing — all sixteen sockets carry power and none is set aside
Cooling
Not published on the Amazon.com listing — the Amazon.com page does not say whether there is a fan
Amazon reference
B0C4X7VZV9 on Amazon.com; B0C4SSQGV3 on the European stores
EAN
4895252500301
On Amazon.com
Amazon.com had an offer at $119 on October 26, 2026.
The questions that come up before an order
What does Extend mode cost?
Speed: the second bullet says the link drops to 10 Mbps when data and power are sent up to 250 m. That is enough for one camera's video stream.
What does Priority mode do?
It gives ports 1 to 4 priority for video or voice traffic, according to the third bullet. Plug the recorder or the phones there.
Our score
8.0/ 10
Sixteen PoE+ sockets with sensible modes and a three-year warranty. The 120 W budget is modest for sixteen sockets, which suits cameras and phones better than access points.
The buyer this one serves, among network and storage gear
A camera system or a building's worth of phones and access points, where sixteen powered sockets and a long-run Extend mode matter more than a large total budget.
What this one costs among network and storage gear
A reference exists on these Amazon stores: France, Germany, Italy, Spain, United Kingdom, United States. Listed is not the same as in stock — availability changes daily.
Specifications: the manufacturer sheet for network and storage gear and the matching Amazon product page. Prices and availability: Keepa. Every figure on this page names its source.
802.3af and 802.3at · 250 W total, no per-socket figure · sixteen powered of eighteen · two gigabit uplinks · one-key VLAN mode · unmanaged
An eighteen-socket switch with sixteen powered sockets and a 250 W shared budget, which never states what one socket can deliver and contradicts itself about how it mounts.
Best for: A building with a dozen or more cameras where the total draw is known and the switch will live in a cupboard, and where the per-socket question can be settled with the seller first.
802.3af and 802.3at · up to 30 W per socket · 65 W total · seven powered of eight · gigabit · Extend mode to 250 m · metal case · 5-year warranty
A gigabit switch that powers seven of its eight sockets and states both halves of the power question — 30 W at one socket, 65 W for all — in an Amazon.com description that is the whole page.
Best for: A small camera or access-point setup — a few low-power devices — behind a router, where a five-year warranty matters.
802.3af and 802.3at · up to 30 W per socket · 250 W total · sixteen powered of eighteen · uplinks numbered 17 and 18 · internal supply · fan-cooled
A rack-mounted eighteen-socket switch with sixteen powered sockets, an internal power supply and fans, which numbers its uplinks and isolates the powered sockets from each other.
Best for: A rack in a cupboard or a small server room carrying a camera installation, where fans are inaudible and an internal supply saves space.