Skip to content

ASUS USB-C2500 V2, 2.5-gigabit Type-C adapter described in four sentences review

A 2.5-gigabit Type-C adapter from a large name whose page publishes four short bullets and answers two of the eight questions this hub asks.

The bottom line A short page for a simple product, and the shortness is the finding. What it does is clear; what it needs from the machine, what drives it and what it is made of are all left out, which is a great deal to leave to a brand name.

On the listing

A USB-C adapter described as designed for the devices of today with seamless compatibility and strong performance; ultra-fast 2.5G Ethernet named for smooth streaming, lag-free gaming and quick file exchange; instant plug and play with no drivers and no trouble on all supported systems; and a slim, light, travel-friendly design named for field work, business travel and life on the move.

Four bullets, four adjectives

Seamless. Ultra-fast. Instant. Slim. Each bullet carries one, and between them they carry two facts: the connector is Type-C and the socket is 2.5G. Everything else on this page is a way of saying that the product is good.

No driver, no list

The third bullet promises nothing to install on all supported systems. The list of those systems does not appear in the title, in the bullets, or anywhere else. A claim of universal support without a list is the one thing a buyer cannot check, and on this family the list is what separates one adapter from the next.

Where the 2.5G stops

The figure appears twice and never acquires a designation, a rate in Mbit/s or a fallback. What happens against a gigabit switch is not stated. What happens against a 100 Mbit/s socket is not stated. The number is the beginning of a specification and the page treats it as the end of one.

Before ordering

Confirm the system you run is one of the supported ones. The bullet promises that it is and never says which they are.

Availability

Priced from 30 € to 40 € across the German, French, Italian and Spanish Amazon stores the day this page was checked.

It is stocked on the American and British Amazon stores as well, in that country’s own currency. The range above leaves those out: it counts euro stores and no others.

Every figure in this section is what Keepa held on the day this page was last updated. Stock and prices move without warning.

Prices quoted in this text were read on 10 September 2026. The live price is at the top of the page.

Where it holds up, and where it stops

Strengths

  • The connector and the network standard are both in the title, so the two things that decide whether it fits a machine can be read without opening the bullets
  • States that no driver is required rather than describing installation as easy, which is a claim a buyer can hold the seller to
  • Names travel and field work as what the shape is for, which is a use rather than an adjective

Compromises

  • Six of the eight questions this hub asks are unanswered, which is the emptiest page in this group
  • No operating system is named at all, next to a bullet claiming there are no drivers to install
  • The 2.5G is given without a designation, a figure in Mbit/s or a fallback, so it cannot be compared with the switch at the other end

Specifications

USB generationNot published on the listing — the connector is named as USB-C in the title and in the first bullet, and no generation, no number and no rate is attached to it in any of the four bullets
Stated link rateNot published on the listing for the host link — the only figure on the whole page, 2.5G, belongs to the Ethernet side
Connector typeUSB Type-C — stated in the title and in the first bullet, which describes the connector as designed for the devices of today
Ethernet port speed standard2.5G Ethernet — stated in the title and in the second bullet as ultra-high-speed connections for streaming, gaming and file transfer. No BASE-T designation, no figure in Mbit/s and no fallback rates are printed
Controller familyNot published on the listing — no chip, no chip maker and no part number appears in the title or in any of the four bullets
Stated operating system supportNot published on the listing as a list — the third bullet says there are no drivers and no trouble and that the adapter works on all supported systems, and never names one of them
Housing materialNot published on the listing — the fourth bullet calls the body slim, light and ready to use and describes it as compact and travel-friendly, without naming a material
Cable arrangementNot published on the listing — no lead, no length and no statement of whether the plug is fixed to the body appears anywhere on the page
Amazon referenceB0BW8FTT2T (same reference on 6 Amazon marketplaces)
EAN4711636101585

The questions that come up before an order

What does no drivers on all supported systems leave out?

Which systems are supported. The claim and the list belong together, and here only the claim is printed. On this family the list is the specification, because the outward hardware is much the same from one box to the next and what separates two adapters is what already recognises them.

Why insist on a BASE-T designation when 2.5G is clear enough?

Because the designation is what two pieces of equipment agree on. A switch port published as 2.5GBASE-T and an adapter published the same way share a channel width, a cable grade and a way of negotiating. 2.5G on its own is a marketing shorthand, and the shorthand is what this page prints.