Skip to content

Tenda PH10, AV1000 with an AC650 dual-band access point at the far end review

The cheapest American kit on this shelf that raises a wireless access point at the far end, and the only one of the three wireless kits here that publishes no socket count for its wireless unit.

Three listings on this shelf put a wireless access point at the far end of the powerline link. The devolo set publishes mesh wireless up to 1200 Mbit/s and is the most expensive European listing here; the FRITZ! kit publishes 866 Mbit/s on AC plus 400 on N. This one publishes AC650 — a dual-band class figure in the title — at $35.99, and it is the only American listing on this shelf with wireless at all.

AC650 is the usual arithmetic of a class number: roughly 433 Mbit/s on the five-gigahertz band plus 200 on the 2.4, added together into a label. The page does not break it apart, which is the thing the FRITZ! listing on this shelf does do and the reason its two figures are more useful than this one. Nor does it name a Wi-Fi generation, a channel width or a stream count anywhere in the five bullets.

The powerline half is published more plainly. The first bullet gives HomePlug AV2 and AV1000 up to 1000 Mbps, with the condition stated in the same breath: actual speeds depend on the internet plan and the house wiring. The third gives a gigabit Ethernet port, in the singular, named for televisions, consoles, computers and streaming devices. Whether the wireless unit also carries a socket, and how many each of the two units has, is not stated — which on a kit whose whole point is that the two ends do different jobs is the figure most worth having.

The fourth bullet gives a pair button and plug-and-play setup. The fifth gives the conditions in the same terms as every careful listing here: a wall socket directly, not a power strip or a surge protector, on the same circuit, with performance varying by wiring quality, distance and interference. No reach in feet or meters is offered, unlike the two TP-Link listings on this shelf, and no AFCI warning appears.

What is missing is the rest of the specification. No pass-through socket is published — two TP-Link listings here have one and this page does not raise the subject, which on an adapter that must go straight into a wall is a real cost not discussed. No encryption of any kind is named, where four other listings on this shelf publish either AES or a button. No kit contents are listed, so whether a lead arrives is unknown. No ceiling on paired units.

At $35.99 on Amazon.com on October 26, 2026 it was the third-cheapest listing on this shelf, behind the ReadyNet pair at $29.98 and the TP-Link add-on unit at $23.98. The comparison that matters is not against the European mesh sets but against a wired kit plus a separate access point, and the page gives nothing to make that comparison with — no wireless socket count, no band split, no standard generation.

Prices quoted in this text were read on October 26, 2026. The live price is at the top of the page.

Where it holds up, and where it stops

Strengths

  • The cheapest American kit on this shelf that raises a wireless access point at the far end, at $35.99
  • Names HomePlug AV2 and states the conditions on the rate in the same bullet as the rate itself
  • The fifth bullet gives the installation conditions as plainly as the most careful listings here
  • A pair button and plug-and-play setup, with no configuration claimed

Compromises

  • AC650 is a class label adding two bands together, and the page never splits it or names a Wi-Fi generation
  • The socket count is given in the singular with no indication whether the wireless unit has one at all
  • No pass-through outlet published, on a kit that must be plugged straight into the wall
  • No encryption of any kind named, where four other listings on this shelf publish AES or a button
  • No contents list, no reach figure, no paired-unit ceiling

Specifications

Powerline standardHomePlug AV2 — stated in the first bullet alongside the AV1000 figure.
Stated peak rate1000 Mbps, as AV1000 — stated in the title and in the first bullet, which adds that actual speeds depend on the internet plan and on the house wiring. It is the theoretical sum the standard defines
Pass-through socketNot published on the listing — no integrated outlet, no current rating and no mention of giving the wall socket back appears in the title or in any of the five bullets, on a kit the fifth bullet requires to be plugged directly into a wall
Ethernet port countOne, named in the singular — stated in the title and in the third bullet. Whether the figure is per unit or across the kit is not stated, and whether the wireless unit carries a socket of its own is not published
Port speedGigabit — stated in the title and in the third bullet as a gigabit Ethernet port. No BASE-T designation and no figure in Mbit/s is printed
Kit compositionTwo units, stated in the title as a kit and in the fourth bullet as the adapters to be paired. The contents are not listed, so whether an Ethernet lead is supplied is not published
Wi-Fi at the far endYes — AC650 dual-band, stated in the title. The figure is a class label that adds the two bands together, and the page does not split it, name a Wi-Fi generation, a channel width or a stream count anywhere
Stated maximum number of paired unitsNot published on the listing — no ceiling appears in the title or in any of the five bullets
Amazon referenceB07S5BTMQY
EAN0885397271376
On Amazon.comAmazon.com had an offer at $36 on October 26, 2026.

The questions that come up before an order

What does AC650 mean?

It is a class label that adds the two wireless bands together — roughly 433 Mbit/s on five gigahertz and 200 on 2.4. The page does not split it, which the FRITZ! kit on this shelf does for its own figure.

How many Ethernet sockets are there?

The page names a gigabit Ethernet port in the singular and does not say whether that is per unit or across the kit, or whether the wireless unit has one at all.

Does it give the wall socket back?

The page does not say, which on this shelf means no: the two listings here with a pass-through outlet both publish it plainly.

Against the rest of the network and storage gear

This network and storage gear share the category and the price bracket. Only what each one states is shown; an incomplete column would mislead.

Model Price Powerline standardStated peak ratePass-through socketEthernet port count
Tenda PH10, AV1000 with an AC650 dual-band access point at the far end $36 HomePlug AV2 — stated in the first bullet alongside the AV1000 figure.1000 Mbps, as AV1000 — stated in the title and in the first bullet, which adds that actual speeds depend on the internet plan and on the house wiring. It is the theoretical sum the standard definesNot published on the listing — no integrated outlet, no current rating and no mention of giving the wall socket back appears in the title or in any of the five bullets, on a kit the fifth bullet requires to be plugged directly into a wallOne, named in the singular — stated in the title and in the third bullet. Whether the figure is per unit or across the kit is not stated, and whether the wireless unit carries a socket of its own is not published
ReadyNet E200K, 200 Mbps and the only listing here that names HomePlug 1.0 coexistence $30 HomePlug, named two ways — the third bullet gives the HomePlug Powerline Specification 2.0 and the fourth the HomePlug AV Powerline Specification for cross-brand compatibility. The two labels are not the same and the page does not reconcile them200 Mbps — stated in the second bullet as up to 200 Mbps of bandwidth over the house wiring, enough for three or more high-definition videos. It is the lowest figure on this shelf, where the rest run from 500 to 2400Not published on the listing — no integrated outlet, no current rating and no mention of giving the wall socket back appears in the title or in any of the six bulletsNot published on the listing — no socket is counted anywhere, although the fifth bullet supplies network cables for both units
TP-Link TL-PA7017, a single add-on unit with a stated 750-foot reach $24 HomePlug AV2 — stated in the second bullet as what delivers the AV1000 rate, with the first bullet adding compatibility with all TP-Link powerline adapters.1000 Mbit/s, as AV1000 — stated in the title and in the second bullet, which adds that speeds cannot exceed the internet plan and may be lower for wiring quality, distance and interference. It is the theoretical sum the standard defines and not a throughputNot published on the listing, and absent — no integrated outlet appears in the title or in any of the ten bullets. The kit version of this same adapter on this shelf publishes one rated to 16 A; this add-on unit occupies the wall socket outrightOne — stated in the sixth bullet as a gigabit port for desktops, televisions and games consoles, with one Ethernet lead included
TP-Link TL-PA9020P KIT, two gigabit sockets per unit and the outlet given back $80 HomePlug AV2 — stated in the second bullet. The eighth lists seven generations it will pair with: AV2000, AV1300, AV1200, AV1000, AV600, AV500 and AV200, which is the longest compatibility list on this shelf2000 Mbit/s, as AV2000 — stated in the title and in the second bullet, and explained in the description as the theoretical maximum physical-layer rate, used to indicate compatibility with other AV2000 devices rather than to promise a speed. It is the highest HomePlug figure on this shelf; the devolo kit here publishes 2400 on G.hn, which is a different system and cannot be paired with this oneYes — stated in the tenth bullet as an extra power outlet with noise-filtered technology. It is the only kit sold on Amazon.com here whose page names oneTwo per unit, four across the kit — stated in the title and in the fifth bullet. It is the highest socket count on this shelf: the TL-PA7017P kit gives one per unit, the devolo set two in total and the FRITZ! kit three

What separates the models, in network and storage gear

  • If price decides: TP-Link TL-PA7017, a single add-on unit with a stated 750-foot reach, at $24.

The buyer this one serves, among network and storage gear

Reaching a far room with both a cable and a wireless signal for under forty dollars, where the wireless half will not be measured.

What this one costs among network and storage gear

Details checked on October 26, 2026.

The network and storage gear guides it appears in

What buyers actually choose

Amazon reports what buyers took in the month before this page was last checked: at least 50.

The figure is a floor, rounded by Amazon, and read through Keepa — it says what buyers picked, not what a maker claims.

Sources

Specifications: the manufacturer sheet for network and storage gear and the matching Amazon product page. Prices and availability: Keepa. Every figure on this page names its source.

What we look at on this network and storage gear