Form factor, interface and rotational speed before the capacity · review
Seagate BarraCuda 8 TB, 190 MB/s sustained, no rpm published review
The cheapest terabyte on this shelf at $35.00 on Amazon.com on October 26, 2026, and the only listing here that states its packaging — with a 190 MB/s sustained rate and no rotational speed.
The title gives an 8 TB BarraCuda, SATA 6 Gb/s, ST8000DM004. The bullets give a sustained transfer rate of 190 MB/s at the outer diameter, uses from music to photo editing to gaming, twenty years of drive technology, and — in the fifth — frustration-free packaging: an anti-static bag only, with no cables and no box.
The shelf it sits on
Drive
Capacity
What the listing publishes
Warranty
Amazon.com, October 26, 2026
WD Blue
1 TB
7200 rpm, 64 MB cache, cloning software
not stated
$109.19, $109.19 a terabyte
WL (white label)
3 TB
7200 rpm, 64 MB cache
one year
$109.95, $36.65 a terabyte
Seagate FireCuda
4 TB
7200 rpm, CMR, 256 MB, 255 MB/s, 300 TB a year
five years, plus three years of Rescue
no offer
HGST MegaScale DC
4 TB
7200 rpm on the listing, 5700 by HGST; 64 MB cache
—
no US offer
Seagate BarraCuda
8 TB
190 MB/s sustained
not stated
$279.99, $35.00 a terabyte
WD Purple Pro
8 TB
7200 rpm, 256 MB, 550 TB a year, 2.5 million hours MTBF
five years
$399.99, $50.00 a terabyte
Toshiba MG06 (renewed)
10 TB
7200 rpm, 256 MB
one-year Renewed guarantee
no US offer
The cheapest terabyte here
At $279.99 on October 26, 2026 it was $35.00 a terabyte — just below the white-label 3 TB at $36.65 and about a third of the WD Blue 1 TB’s price per terabyte. For bulk storage it is the line that decides.
A rate, and no rpm
190 MB/s is the one figure here that describes performance rather than implying it. It is also below the FireCuda 4 TB’s 255 MB/s from the same maker, and a larger drive reading more slowly points at a lower rotational speed, a lower areal density per platter or shingled recording. The listing names none of the three — no rpm, no cache, no recording method — where every other drive on this shelf prints its rpm.
The bag
The fifth bullet is the only packaging statement on this shelf, and it is the kind of honesty that saves an evening: a bare drive, with no SATA data cable.
What is not published
Rotational speed, cache, recording method, workload rating and warranty term. The FireCuda and the Purple Pro both give five years.
Prices quoted in this text were read on October 26, 2026. The live price is at the top of the page.
Where it holds up, and where it stops
Strengths
Publishes a sustained transfer rate, 190 MB/s at the outer diameter, which describes what the mechanism delivers
$35.00 a terabyte on Amazon.com on October 26, 2026, the cheapest storage on this shelf
The only listing here that says what arrives: an anti-static bag, no cable and no box
Compromises
No rotational speed and no cache size, which every other drive here prints
No recording method, on a large drive that reads more slowly than the 4 TB FireCuda
No warranty term and no workload rating
Specifications
Capacity
8 TB — printed in the title, in the maker’s unit and reported here in that unit
Form factor
3.5-inch — implied by the title’s desktop framing and by the 147 × 102 mm (5.79 × 4.02 in) footprint recorded against the item; not stated in words
Height
Not published on the listing — 26 mm (1.02 in) is recorded against the item, which is the standard 3.5-inch height
Interface
SATA 6 Gb/s — printed in the title. The listing also states 190 MB/s sustained at the outer diameter, one of only two sustained-rate figures on this shelf, and a sustained rate is what the interface actually delivers rather than what it can carry.
Rotational speed
Not published on the listing. Several of the three drives on this shelf give one and this is the exception
Cache size
Not published on the listing — no megabyte figure for cache appears in the title or in any of the five bullets
Stated workload rating
NOT PUBLISHED on the listing. What comes in the packet is an anti-static bag ONLY — the fifth bullet states no cables and no box.
Warranty length
Not published on the listing
Stated MTBF
Not published on the listing
Stated acoustic figure
Not published on the listing — no decibel value appears
Stated idle power
Not published on the listing
Amazon reference
B07H289S7C
EAN
0763649129548
On Amazon.com
Amazon.com had an offer at $280 on October 26, 2026.
The questions that come up before an order
Why does a sustained rate matter more than rpm?
Because it is the result rather than one of the causes. 190 MB/s at the outer diameter is what the drive delivers reading a long file from the fastest part of the platter; rpm and cache only hint at it. The FireCuda 4 TB on this shelf publishes 255 MB/s.
What comes in the box?
An anti-static bag, according to the fifth bullet — no SATA data cable, no power splitter and no retail box. A build that needs another cable has to supply it.
Against the rest of the network and storage gear
This network and storage gear share the category and the price bracket. Only what each one states is shown; an incomplete column would mislead.
Model
Price
Capacity
Form factor
Height
Interface
Seagate BarraCuda 8 TB, 190 MB/s sustained, no rpm published
$280
8 TB — printed in the title, in the maker’s unit and reported here in that unit
3.5-inch — implied by the title’s desktop framing and by the 147 × 102 mm (5.79 × 4.02 in) footprint recorded against the item; not stated in words
Not published on the listing — 26 mm (1.02 in) is recorded against the item, which is the standard 3.5-inch height
SATA 6 Gb/s — printed in the title. The listing also states 190 MB/s sustained at the outer diameter, one of only two sustained-rate figures on this shelf, and a sustained rate is what the interface actually delivers rather than what it can carry.
Amazon reports what buyers took in the month before this page was last checked: at least 2,000.
The figure is a floor, rounded by Amazon, and read through Keepa — it says what buyers picked, not what a maker claims.
Sources
Specifications: the manufacturer sheet for network and storage gear and the matching Amazon product page. Prices and availability: Keepa. Every figure on this page names its source.
4 TB · 3.5-inch · 7200 rpm · 64 MB cache · SATA 6 Gb/s · one bullet, which repeats the title · no duty figure of any kind
A four-terabyte drive whose single bullet reprints its title word for word, publishing every mechanical figure and not one figure about what the drive is specified to withstand.
Best for: A bulk volume in a desktop machine where the drive will not be pushed hard, bought by someone comparing on figures alone and getting the rest from the datasheet.
4 TB · 3.5-inch · 7200 rpm · CMR · 256 MB cache · SATA 6 Gb/s · 300 TB per year workload · 255 MB/s sustained
A 4 TB, 7200 rpm desktop drive whose listing prints CMR in the title, a 300 TB a year workload, 255 MB/s sustained and a 5-year limited warranty plus 3 years of Rescue data recovery.
Best for: A desktop machine that writes a great deal — video work, large game libraries, editing scratch space — where the recording method and the annual duty both need to be known before purchase.
A ten-terabyte drive from Toshiba’s Enterprise Capacity range, sold refurbished as a Dell version through Amazon Renewed with a one-year limited warranty; no workload rating or MTBF is published.
Best for: A machine that needs the most capacity per bay on this shelf, for a buyer who accepts a refurbished drive and keeps a backup elsewhere — once a US offer exists.