Form factor, interface and rotational speed before the capacity · review
white label WL 3 TB, 7200 rpm, one-year warranty review
An unbranded 3 TB, 7200 rpm drive with a one-year warranty in its title, at $36.65 a terabyte on Amazon.com on October 26, 2026 — within five per cent of the branded BarraCuda.
The title is the specification: WL 3 TB, 7200 rpm, 64 MB cache, SATA III 6.0 Gb/s, 3.5-inch, for RAID, NAS, DVR and desktop PC, with a one-year warranty.
The shelf it sits on
Drive
Capacity
What the listing publishes
Warranty
Amazon.com, October 26, 2026
WD Blue
1 TB
7200 rpm, 64 MB cache, cloning software
not stated
$109.19, $109.19 a terabyte
WL (white label)
3 TB
7200 rpm, 64 MB cache
one year
$109.95, $36.65 a terabyte
Seagate FireCuda
4 TB
7200 rpm, CMR, 256 MB, 255 MB/s, 300 TB a year
five years, plus three years of Rescue
no offer
HGST MegaScale DC
4 TB
7200 rpm on the listing, 5700 by HGST; 64 MB cache
—
no US offer
Seagate BarraCuda
8 TB
190 MB/s sustained
not stated
$279.99, $35.00 a terabyte
WD Purple Pro
8 TB
7200 rpm, 256 MB, 550 TB a year, 2.5 million hours MTBF
five years
$399.99, $50.00 a terabyte
Toshiba MG06 (renewed)
10 TB
7200 rpm, 256 MB
one-year Renewed guarantee
no US offer
One year, stated
A white-label drive is a mechanism sold without its maker’s name or its maker’s warranty, and the one-year term here is what that means in practice. It is stated plainly in the title. Among the new drives here, the FireCuda and the Purple Pro give five years and the BarraCuda and the WD Blue give none; the refurbished Toshiba carries a one-year Renewed guarantee.
The price of not knowing
At $109.95 on October 26, 2026 it was $36.65 a terabyte, within five per cent of the branded BarraCuda 8 TB at $35.00. The saving that usually justifies an unbranded drive is not there at these prices; what it offers instead is a smaller capacity, 7200 rpm stated, and a warranty that the BarraCuda listing does not state at all.
Its uses, including one nobody else names
RAID, NAS, DVR and desktop. A DVR writes continuously and overwrites in place, which is surveillance duty; the WD Purple Pro on this shelf is the drive rated for it, at 550 TB a year.
What is not published
The maker of the mechanism, a sustained rate, a workload rating, an MTBF and an acoustic figure.
Prices quoted in this text were read on October 26, 2026. The live price is at the top of the page.
Where it holds up, and where it stops
Strengths
Capacity, rpm, cache, interface and its rate all in the title
A warranty term published, one year, where the BarraCuda and the WD Blue publish none
Names its uses, including DVR, which nothing else on this shelf mentions
Compromises
One year is the shortest new-drive warranty here, against five on the FireCuda and the Purple Pro
No maker named: the mechanism inside is unbranded
No sustained rate, workload rating, MTBF or acoustic figure
Specifications
Capacity
3 TB — printed in the title, in the maker’s unit and reported here in that unit
Form factor
3.5-inch — printed in the title and named in the second bullet as the standard 3.5-inch form factor
Height
Not published on the listing — no millimeter figure appears
Interface
SATA III 6.0 Gb/s — printed in the title with both the generation and the rate, and named again in the third bullet
Rotational speed
7200 rpm — printed in the title
Cache size
64 MB — printed in the title. It is the smaller of the two cache sizes on this shelf
Stated workload rating
Not published on the listing — no terabytes-per-year figure appears, on a drive named for RAID and NAS use
Warranty length
One year — printed in the title. It is the shorter of the two warranty terms published on this shelf
Stated MTBF
Not published on the listing
Stated acoustic figure
Not published on the listing
Stated idle power
NOT PUBLISHED on the listing. The drive weighs 621 g (21.9 oz)
Amazon reference
B00X37FQBU
EAN
8682821114122
On Amazon.com
Amazon.com had an offer at $110 on October 26, 2026.
Where this unit differs
Put against the median of its own group on this site — not against every network product sold.
Cache size64 MB — printed in the title. It is the smaller of the two cache sizes on this shelf-75 % against the median of this group
Capacity3 TB — printed in the title, in the maker’s unit and reported here in that unit-62 % against the median of this group
The questions that come up before an order
What is a white-label drive?
A mechanism made by one of the remaining hard-drive manufacturers and sold without their branding or their warranty, which is why the term here is one year. The listing does not name the maker and does not claim the drive is refurbished.
Is it good for a DVR?
The title names DVR among its uses. A recorder writes a continuous stream for hours and overwrites the oldest footage, which is the duty surveillance drives such as the WD Purple Pro on this shelf are rated for, with a 550 TB a year workload. This listing gives no workload rating.
Against the rest of the network and storage gear
This network and storage gear share the category and the price bracket. Only what each one states is shown; an incomplete column would mislead.
Model
Price
Capacity
Form factor
Height
Interface
white label WL 3 TB, 7200 rpm, one-year warranty
$110
3 TB — printed in the title, in the maker’s unit and reported here in that unit
3.5-inch — printed in the title and named in the second bullet as the standard 3.5-inch form factor
Not published on the listing — no millimeter figure appears
SATA III 6.0 Gb/s — printed in the title with both the generation and the rate, and named again in the third bullet
8 TB — printed in the title, in the maker’s unit and reported here in that unit
3.5-inch — implied by the title’s desktop framing and by the 147 × 102 mm (5.79 × 4.02 in) footprint recorded against the item; not stated in words
Not published on the listing — 26 mm (1.02 in) is recorded against the item, which is the standard 3.5-inch height
SATA 6 Gb/s — printed in the title. The listing also states 190 MB/s sustained at the outer diameter, one of only two sustained-rate figures on this shelf, and a sustained rate is what the interface actually delivers rather than what it can carry.
SATA 6 Gb/s, per Western Digital's datasheet for the Purple Pro range; the Amazon title and bullets do not state it
What separates the models, in network and storage gear
If price decides: Western Digital WD Blue 1 TB, cloning software included, at $109.
Highest Capacity in the table: Western Digital Purple Pro 8 TB Surveillance Drive (8 TB, in the maker's decimal unit).
The buyer this one serves, among network and storage gear
Replacing a failed 3 TB drive where the warranty is not the point
What this one costs among network and storage gear
Details checked on October 26, 2026.
What buyers actually choose
Amazon reports what buyers took in the month before this page was last checked: at least 50.
The figure is a floor, rounded by Amazon, and read through Keepa — it says what buyers picked, not what a maker claims.
Sources
Specifications: the manufacturer sheet for network and storage gear and the matching Amazon product page. Prices and availability: Keepa. Every figure on this page names its source.
4 TB · 3.5-inch · 7200 rpm · 64 MB cache · SATA 6 Gb/s · one bullet, which repeats the title · no duty figure of any kind
A four-terabyte drive whose single bullet reprints its title word for word, publishing every mechanical figure and not one figure about what the drive is specified to withstand.
Best for: A bulk volume in a desktop machine where the drive will not be pushed hard, bought by someone comparing on figures alone and getting the rest from the datasheet.
8 TB · 3.5-inch · height not published, 26 mm (1.02 in) recorded · SATA 6 Gb/s · rotational speed not published · cache not published · 190 MB/s sustained at the outer diameter · no workload rating · no warranty · no MTBF · no acoustic figure · no idle power · 630 g (22.2 oz)
The cheapest terabyte on this shelf at $35.00 on Amazon.com on October 26, 2026, and the only listing here that states its packaging — with a 190 MB/s sustained rate and no rotational speed.
Best for: Bulk storage filled once, where sustained read speed is the figure that matters
4 TB · 3.5-inch · 7200 rpm · CMR · 256 MB cache · SATA 6 Gb/s · 300 TB per year workload · 255 MB/s sustained
A 4 TB, 7200 rpm desktop drive whose listing prints CMR in the title, a 300 TB a year workload, 255 MB/s sustained and a 5-year limited warranty plus 3 years of Rescue data recovery.
Best for: A desktop machine that writes a great deal — video work, large game libraries, editing scratch space — where the recording method and the annual duty both need to be known before purchase.