Form factor, interface and rotational speed before the capacity · review
Western Digital WD Blue 1 TB, cloning software included review
The only drive on this shelf supplied with software — Acronis True Image WD Edition — and the smallest capacity here at the highest price per terabyte.
The title carries the specification: WD Blue 1 TB, 7200 rpm, SATA 6 Gb/s, 64 MB cache, 3.5-inch, WD10EZEX. The bullets describe everyday computing and WD quality, and the third offers Acronis True Image WD Edition cloning software, stated free.
The shelf it sits on
Drive
Capacity
What the listing publishes
Warranty
Amazon.com, October 26, 2026
WD Blue
1 TB
7200 rpm, 64 MB cache, cloning software
not stated
$109.19, $109.19 a terabyte
WL (white label)
3 TB
7200 rpm, 64 MB cache
one year
$109.95, $36.65 a terabyte
Seagate FireCuda
4 TB
7200 rpm, CMR, 256 MB, 255 MB/s, 300 TB a year
five years, plus three years of Rescue
no offer
HGST MegaScale DC
4 TB
7200 rpm on the listing, 5700 by HGST; 64 MB cache
—
no US offer
Seagate BarraCuda
8 TB
190 MB/s sustained
not stated
$279.99, $35.00 a terabyte
WD Purple Pro
8 TB
7200 rpm, 256 MB, 550 TB a year, 2.5 million hours MTBF
five years
$399.99, $50.00 a terabyte
Toshiba MG06 (renewed)
10 TB
7200 rpm, 256 MB
one-year Renewed guarantee
no US offer
The software, and the job it fits
Cloning an existing system drive onto a new one is what a 1 TB drive is mostly bought for in 2026, and this is the only listing on this shelf that supplies the tool. A clone of a 500 GB system drive wants a 1 TB target, not an 8 TB one.
The price
At $109.19 on October 26, 2026, one terabyte cost about three times the BarraCuda’s price per terabyte, and 76 cents less than the white-label 3 TB. As storage it is the most expensive on this shelf; as a replacement system drive with its own cloning software, it is the plain choice.
What is not published
A warranty term, a workload rating, an MTBF, an acoustic figure or the idle power — the five lines a replacement drive is usually checked on.
Prices quoted in this text were read on October 26, 2026. The live price is at the top of the page.
Where it holds up, and where it stops
Strengths
Acronis True Image WD Edition cloning software, stated free — the only software on this shelf, and the right tool for the job a 1 TB drive is usually bought for
7200 rpm, 64 MB cache, SATA 6 Gb/s and 3.5-inch, all in the title
A size that suits a machine with one bay left and a small power supply
Compromises
$109.19 a terabyte on Amazon.com on October 26, 2026, about three times the BarraCuda 8 TB
No warranty term, where the FireCuda and the Purple Pro give five years and the white-label drive one
No workload rating, MTBF, acoustic figure or idle power
Specifications
Capacity
1 TB — printed in the title, in the maker’s unit. It is the smallest capacity on this shelf
Form factor
3.5-inch — printed in the title
Height
Not published on the listing — no millimeter figure appears
Interface
SATA 6 Gb/s — printed in the title, with the generation and the rate together
Rotational speed
7200 rpm — printed in the title
Cache size
64 MB — printed in the title. It is the smaller of the two cache sizes on this shelf
Stated workload rating
Not published on the listing
Warranty length
NOT PUBLISHED on the listing — several of the three drives here omit it. What the third bullet does offer is Acronis True Image WD Edition cloning software, stated free, and it is the only software on this shelf.
Stated MTBF
Not published on the listing
Stated acoustic figure
Not published on the listing — none of the four bullets mentions noise
Stated idle power
NOT PUBLISHED on the listing. The drive weighs 440 g (15.5 oz).
Amazon reference
B0088PUEPK
EAN
0718037779911
On Amazon.com
Amazon.com had an offer at $109 on October 26, 2026.
Where this unit differs
Put against the median of its own group on this site — not against every network product sold.
Capacity1 TB — printed in the title, in the maker’s unit. It is the smallest capacity on this shelf-87 % against the median of this group
Cache size64 MB — printed in the title. It is the smaller of the two cache sizes on this shelf-75 % against the median of this group
The questions that come up before an order
Is a terabyte for about $109 reasonable?
As storage, no: the BarraCuda 8 TB on this shelf was $35.00 a terabyte on October 26, 2026, and the white-label 3 TB cost 76 cents more than this drive for three times the capacity. As the target for cloning a small system drive, with the software included, it is the drive the job calls for.
What is the software for?
Acronis True Image WD Edition copies an existing drive onto this one, so a failing or full system disk can be replaced without reinstalling. It is the only software offered with any drive on this shelf.
Against the rest of the network and storage gear
This network and storage gear share the category and the price bracket. Only what each one states is shown; an incomplete column would mislead.
Model
Price
Capacity
Form factor
Height
Interface
Western Digital WD Blue 1 TB, cloning software included
$109
1 TB — printed in the title, in the maker’s unit. It is the smallest capacity on this shelf
3.5-inch — printed in the title
Not published on the listing — no millimeter figure appears
SATA 6 Gb/s — printed in the title, with the generation and the rate together
8 TB — printed in the title, in the maker’s unit and reported here in that unit
3.5-inch — implied by the title’s desktop framing and by the 147 × 102 mm (5.79 × 4.02 in) footprint recorded against the item; not stated in words
Not published on the listing — 26 mm (1.02 in) is recorded against the item, which is the standard 3.5-inch height
SATA 6 Gb/s — printed in the title. The listing also states 190 MB/s sustained at the outer diameter, one of only two sustained-rate figures on this shelf, and a sustained rate is what the interface actually delivers rather than what it can carry.
SATA 6 Gb/s, per Western Digital's datasheet for the Purple Pro range; the Amazon title and bullets do not state it
What separates the models, in network and storage gear
If price decides: this model, at $109.
Highest Capacity in the table: Western Digital Purple Pro 8 TB Surveillance Drive (8 TB, in the maker's decimal unit).
The buyer this one serves, among network and storage gear
Cloning a failing system drive onto a new one without a reinstall
What this one costs among network and storage gear
Details checked on October 26, 2026.
What buyers actually choose
Amazon reports what buyers took in the month before this page was last checked: at least 300.
The figure is a floor, rounded by Amazon, and read through Keepa — it says what buyers picked, not what a maker claims.
Sources
Specifications: the manufacturer sheet for network and storage gear and the matching Amazon product page. Prices and availability: Keepa. Every figure on this page names its source.
4 TB · 3.5-inch · 7200 rpm · 64 MB cache · SATA 6 Gb/s · one bullet, which repeats the title · no duty figure of any kind
A four-terabyte drive whose single bullet reprints its title word for word, publishing every mechanical figure and not one figure about what the drive is specified to withstand.
Best for: A bulk volume in a desktop machine where the drive will not be pushed hard, bought by someone comparing on figures alone and getting the rest from the datasheet.
8 TB · 3.5-inch · height not published, 26 mm (1.02 in) recorded · SATA 6 Gb/s · rotational speed not published · cache not published · 190 MB/s sustained at the outer diameter · no workload rating · no warranty · no MTBF · no acoustic figure · no idle power · 630 g (22.2 oz)
The cheapest terabyte on this shelf at $35.00 on Amazon.com on October 26, 2026, and the only listing here that states its packaging — with a 190 MB/s sustained rate and no rotational speed.
Best for: Bulk storage filled once, where sustained read speed is the figure that matters
4 TB · 3.5-inch · 7200 rpm · CMR · 256 MB cache · SATA 6 Gb/s · 300 TB per year workload · 255 MB/s sustained
A 4 TB, 7200 rpm desktop drive whose listing prints CMR in the title, a 300 TB a year workload, 255 MB/s sustained and a 5-year limited warranty plus 3 years of Rescue data recovery.
Best for: A desktop machine that writes a great deal — video work, large game libraries, editing scratch space — where the recording method and the annual duty both need to be known before purchase.