Skip to content

WD_BLACK D10 Game Drive, 8 TB, 250 MB/s, active cooling review

The largest capacity on this shelf and the only drive here with a fan, a spindle speed and a pair of charging ports — at $397.04 on Amazon.com on October 26, 2026.

What the Amazon.com listing says

An 8 TB game drive: a stated speed up to 250 MB/s rated at 7200 rpm, active cooling, two 7.5 W USB Type-A charging ports for other devices, and compatibility with PlayStation, Xbox, PC and Mac. The description adds room for about 200 games at a 36 GB average, and that the 250 MB/s is a read speed from internal testing. The title calls it a portable external hard drive.

The shelf it sits on

DriveCapacityFormatStated ratePowerPrice on Amazon.com, October 26, 2026
Intenso1 TB2.5-inch portable, refurbished mechanism85 MB/s read, 75 MB/s writeover the USB-A cable$82.58
Avolusion PRO-T54 TBnot statednonenot stated$158.50, $39.63 a terabyte
Avolusion PRO-T84 TBrefurbished 7200 rpm enterprise mechanism5 Gbit/s for the interface only12 V, 2 A adapterno offer
Seagate Expansion6 TBdesktopnoneincluded power supply$229.00, $38.17 a terabyte
WD_BLACK D108 TBtitled portable, built as a desktop unitup to 250 MB/s at 7200 rpmnot stated$397.04, $49.63 a terabyte

A rate with its reason

250 MB/s beside 7200 rpm is a figure that explains itself: the platters set the speed, not the cable. It is about three times the 85 MB/s the 2.5-inch Intenso publishes for reading, which is the gap between a desktop mechanism and a portable one. The refurbished Avolusion PRO-T8 also names 7200 rpm, without a transfer rate.

Portable in the title, desktop in every figure

Eight terabytes means a 3.5-inch mechanism, the cooling means a fan, and two charging ports giving 7.5 W each mean power the drive has to receive from a wall. The recorded 980 g (34.6 oz) and 44 mm (1.73 in) of thickness agree. The listing never mentions the mains adapter, and every one of those details implies it.

The price

$397.04 on Amazon.com on October 26, 2026, or $49.63 a terabyte — the most expensive drive and the most expensive terabyte on this shelf, for the largest capacity, the only fan and the only charging ports.

What is not published

The USB generation, the connector, the power supply, the cable and a warranty term.

Prices quoted in this text were read on October 26, 2026. The live price is at the top of the page.

Where it holds up, and where it stops

Strengths

  • 8 TB, the largest capacity on this shelf
  • Publishes a spindle speed and a rate together — 7200 rpm and up to 250 MB/s — the only new drive here to do so
  • About three times the 85 MB/s the Intenso portable publishes for reading
  • Two 7.5 W USB-A charging ports, which nothing else here offers

Compromises

  • Titled portable on a drive with a fan, 8 TB and 15 W of charging output
  • No USB generation and no connector type
  • No power source stated, on a drive that cannot be bus-powered
  • $49.63 a terabyte on Amazon.com on October 26, 2026, against $38.17 on the Seagate Expansion

Specifications

Capacity8 TB — printed in the title, in the maker’s unit. It is the largest capacity on this shelf
Portable or desktop formatTitled portable; specified as a desktop unit. The title says portable external hard drive, and the 8 TB capacity, the active cooling, the two charging ports and the 44 mm (1.73 in) depth all describe a 3.5-inch desktop drive
USB generationNot published on the listing — no USB generation appears in the title or in any of the four bullets
Stated link rateNot published in gigabits — the second bullet gives up to 250 MB/s, which is about 2.0 Gbit/s, and attributes it to a 7200 rpm mechanism
Connector typeNot published on the listing — the two Type-A sockets named in the third bullet are charging outputs, not the data connection
Power sourceNot published on the listing — no mains adapter is mentioned, on a drive with active cooling and 15 W of charging output that cannot be bus-powered
Stated dimensions195 × 125 × 44 mm (7.68 × 4.92 × 1.73 in)
Weight980 g (34.6 oz)
Cable suppliedNot published on the listing — no cable appears among the stated contents
Warranty lengthNot published on the listing
Amazon referenceB07XVB7G99
EAN0718037870946
On Amazon.comAmazon.com had an offer at $397 on October 26, 2026.

Where this unit differs

Put against the median of its own group on this site — not against every network product sold.

  • Stated dimensions195 × 125 × 44 mm (7.68 × 4.92 × 1.73 in)+2338 % against the median of this group
  • Capacity8 TB — printed in the title, in the maker’s unit. It is the largest capacity on this shelf+100 % against the median of this group
  • Weight980 g (34.6 oz)-28 % against the median of this group

The questions that come up before an order

Is it actually portable?

No, on everything measurable. The title says portable; the 8 TB capacity means a 3.5-inch mechanism, the active cooling means a fan, the two 7.5 W charging ports mean 15 W of output no bus-powered drive can give away, and 980 g (34.6 oz) at 44 mm (1.73 in) thick is a desktop body.

What do 250 MB/s and 7200 rpm tell me together?

That the mechanism is the limit, not the cable. 250 MB/s is about 2 Gbit/s, well inside any USB 3 link, and it is what a 7200 rpm 3.5-inch drive reads on its outer tracks. The Intenso portable on this shelf publishes 85 MB/s reading.

What are the two USB ports for?

Charging other things — 7.5 W each, which is 5 V at 1.5 A: a controller at a sensible rate, a phone slowly. It is not USB Power Delivery and the listing does not claim it is. Nothing else on this shelf has extra ports, and their presence is also the clearest sign of the mains adapter the listing never mentions.

Against the rest of the network and storage gear

This network and storage gear share the category and the price bracket. Only what each one states is shown; an incomplete column would mislead.

Model Price Capacity
WD_BLACK D10 Game Drive, 8 TB, 250 MB/s, active cooling $397 8 TB — printed in the title, in the maker’s unit. It is the largest capacity on this shelf
Seagate 6 TB desktop, dimensions in the title $229 6 TB — printed in the title, in the maker’s unit
Western Digital My Passport 5 TB $226 5 TB
TOSHIBA Canvio Partner 4 TB $221 4 TB

What separates the models, in network and storage gear

  • If price decides: TOSHIBA Canvio Partner 4 TB, at $221.
  • Highest Capacity in the table: this model (8 TB — printed in the title, in the maker’s unit. It is the largest capacity on this shelf).
  • This model holds the table’s highest figure for Capacity.

The buyer this one serves, among network and storage gear

A console beside a television, with a controller charging off it

What this one costs among network and storage gear

Details checked on October 26, 2026.

The network and storage gear guides it appears in

What buyers actually choose

Amazon reports what buyers took in the month before this page was last checked: at least 100.

The figure is a floor, rounded by Amazon, and read through Keepa — it says what buyers picked, not what a maker claims.

Sources

Specifications: the manufacturer sheet for network and storage gear and the matching Amazon product page. Prices and availability: Keepa. Every figure on this page names its source.

What we look at on this network and storage gear