Skip to content

Seagate 6 TB desktop, dimensions in the title review

Six terabytes with its dimensions in the title and its power supply in the box — and a listing that calls itself a desktop drive and then calls itself portable.

What the Amazon.com listing says

The title gives a 6 TB desktop drive, black, 7 × 1.6 × 4.9 in. The bullets offer capacity, USB 3.0, faster loading of Mac apps — and, in the second, that the drive “is portable, can be carried anywhere”. The description is plainer: a desktop drive for PC and Mac, set up by plugging in the included power supply and USB cable, recognized without software, with Rescue Data Recovery Services.

The shelf it sits on

DriveCapacityFormatStated ratePowerPrice on Amazon.com, October 26, 2026
Intenso1 TB2.5-inch portable, refurbished mechanism85 MB/s read, 75 MB/s writeover the USB-A cable$82.58
Avolusion PRO-T54 TBnot statednonenot stated$158.50, $39.63 a terabyte
Avolusion PRO-T84 TBrefurbished 7200 rpm enterprise mechanism5 Gbit/s for the interface only12 V, 2 A adapterno offer
Seagate Expansion6 TBdesktopnoneincluded power supply$229.00, $38.17 a terabyte
WD_BLACK D108 TBtitled portable, built as a desktop unitup to 250 MB/s at 7200 rpmnot stated$397.04, $49.63 a terabyte

The cheapest terabyte here

At $229.00 on October 26, 2026 it was $38.17 a terabyte, just below the Avolusion PRO-T5’s $39.63 and well below the WD_BLACK’s $49.63 — and six terabytes is the largest capacity here under $300.

Desktop, then portable

A 6 TB 3.5-inch mechanism draws more than a USB port supplies, which is why the description has a power supply in the box. The second bullet’s portability is a claim about carrying it from one wall socket to another.

What is not published

A transfer rate and a warranty term. The recovery service the description names is a different thing from either.

Prices quoted in this text were read on October 26, 2026. The live price is at the top of the page.

Where it holds up, and where it stops

Strengths

  • The lowest price per terabyte on this shelf, $38.17, at $229.00 on Amazon.com on October 26, 2026
  • Its dimensions in its own title, 7 × 1.6 × 4.9 in
  • The description names the power supply and the USB cable in the box, and Rescue Data Recovery Services

Compromises

  • The second bullet calls a 6 TB desktop drive weighing 1,176 g (41.5 oz) portable
  • No transfer rate, only USB 3.0
  • No warranty term, only a recovery service

Specifications

Capacity6 TB — printed in the title, in the maker’s unit
Portable or desktop formatDesktop — stated in the title as a desktop hard drive. The second bullet then says the drive is portable and can be carried anywhere; the 1,176 g (41.5 oz) weight and the 41 mm (1.61 in) depth describe a 3.5-inch desktop unit
USB generationUSB 3.0 — named in the fourth bullet, which calls it super-fast and gives no rate
Stated link rateNot published on the listing — USB 3.0 carries 5 Gbit/s, which is the interface rather than the drive
Connector typeNot published on the listing — neither the socket on the drive nor the plug at the computer end is named
Power sourceThe included power supply — stated in the description, which says to plug in the included power supply and USB cable
Stated dimensions7 × 1.6 × 4.9 in (178 × 41 × 124 mm) — printed in the title, the only drive on this shelf with its size in its title
Weight1,176 g (41.5 oz)
Cable suppliedA USB cable — stated in the description alongside the power supply
Warranty lengthNot published on the listing — the description names Rescue Data Recovery Services, which is a recovery service rather than a warranty term
Amazon referenceB092R599W5
EAN0763649160640
On Amazon.comAmazon.com had an offer at $229 on October 26, 2026.

Where this unit differs

Put against the median of its own group on this site — not against every network product sold.

  • Stated dimensions7 × 1.6 × 4.9 in (178 × 41 × 124 mm) — printed in the title, the only drive on this shelf with its size in its title-96 % against the median of this group
  • Capacity6 TB — printed in the title, in the maker’s unit+50 % against the median of this group
  • Weight1,176 g (41.5 oz)-14 % against the median of this group

The questions that come up before an order

Is it portable?

No. The title calls it a desktop hard drive, the description says to plug in the included power supply, and the recorded weight is 1,176 g (41.5 oz). The second bullet's claim that it can be carried anywhere describes a drive that needs a wall socket wherever it goes.

Is Rescue Data Recovery a warranty?

No. It is a data-recovery service named in the description, separate from the drive's warranty, and no warranty term appears on the listing.

Against the rest of the network and storage gear

This network and storage gear share the category and the price bracket. Only what each one states is shown; an incomplete column would mislead.

Model Price Capacity
Seagate 6 TB desktop, dimensions in the title $229 6 TB — printed in the title, in the maker’s unit
Western Digital My Passport 5 TB $226 5 TB
TOSHIBA Canvio Partner 4 TB $221 4 TB
LaCie Rugged 4 TB, USB-C $210 4 TB — printed in the title, in the maker’s unit and reported here in that unit without conversion

What separates the models, in network and storage gear

  • If price decides: LaCie Rugged 4 TB, USB-C, at $210.
  • Highest Capacity in the table: this model (6 TB — printed in the title, in the maker’s unit).
  • This model holds the table’s highest figure for Capacity.

The buyer this one serves, among network and storage gear

Six terabytes that will sit on a desk and stay there

What this one costs among network and storage gear

Details checked on October 26, 2026.

The network and storage gear guides it appears in

What buyers actually choose

Amazon reports what buyers took in the month before this page was last checked: at least 50.

The figure is a floor, rounded by Amazon, and read through Keepa — it says what buyers picked, not what a maker claims.

Sources

Specifications: the manufacturer sheet for network and storage gear and the matching Amazon product page. Prices and availability: Keepa. Every figure on this page names its source.

What we look at on this network and storage gear