The only drive on this shelf that names the grade of the mechanism inside it — a refurbished 7200 rpm enterprise drive in a new case — on a listing whose description is partly copied from another model.
Amazon.com listed it on October 26, 2026, but no current offer passed our price check, so no price is quoted. The Amazon.com page exists, but nobody was selling the unit; a listing in that state is often a third-party import.
Models on this shelf that Amazon.com did sell on that date:
A 4 TB USB 3.0 external drive for Windows PCs, sold as Renewed with a two-year warranty in the title. The fifth bullet is the one that matters: a brand-new case around a refurbished 7200 rpm enterprise drive from an unnamed manufacturer, stated to have zero bad sectors and 100 % health. The description adds a fan-less design, Windows 11 to 7 support, NTFS pre-formatting, a USB data speed of 5.0 Gbit/s, a body of 8 × 5 × 1.6 in, a 12 V, 2 A power adapter and a USB 3.0 cable in the box.
The shelf it sits on
Drive
Capacity
Format
Stated rate
Power
Price on Amazon.com, October 26, 2026
Intenso
1 TB
2.5-inch portable, refurbished mechanism
85 MB/s read, 75 MB/s write
over the USB-A cable
$82.58
Avolusion PRO-T5
4 TB
not stated
none
not stated
$158.50, $39.63 a terabyte
Avolusion PRO-T8
4 TB
refurbished 7200 rpm enterprise mechanism
5 Gbit/s for the interface only
12 V, 2 A adapter
no offer
Seagate Expansion
6 TB
desktop
none
included power supply
$229.00, $38.17 a terabyte
WD_BLACK D10
8 TB
titled portable, built as a desktop unit
up to 250 MB/s at 7200 rpm
not stated
$397.04, $49.63 a terabyte
The grade of the mechanism, which nothing else here names
An external drive is a case, a bridge board and a mechanism, and listings almost always describe only the first. This one names the mechanism’s class — enterprise, 7200 rpm — and says it has been refurbished. The Intenso is the other refurbished drive here, a 2.5-inch portable mechanism in a new enclosure; the rest are sold as new without saying what is inside.
A description borrowed in part
The specification block lists “Model: PROT5-WH—WIN” and “Built-In Capacity: 3TB” on a page for a 4 TB PRO-T8. The power figures and the package contents read like this drive’s; the model line and the capacity do not. Read the title and the bullets for what the unit is.
Windows only
The listing sells the drive for Windows and the description says it arrives NTFS-formatted. On an external hard drive that is usually a format rather than a hardware limit: macOS reads NTFS and does not write to it, and reformatting an empty drive is a few minutes’ work.
Availability
Amazon.com had no offer for this listing on October 26, 2026. The new-mechanism PRO-T5 of the same capacity was $158.50 that day.
Prices quoted in this text were read on October 26, 2026. The live price is at the top of the page.
Where it holds up, and where it stops
Strengths
Names the grade of the mechanism: a refurbished 7200 rpm enterprise drive, stated to have zero bad sectors, in a new case
The description lists the power adapter, 12 V at 2 A, and the USB 3.0 cable in the box
A two-year warranty in the title
Compromises
No Amazon.com offer on October 26, 2026
Sold for Windows only and shipped NTFS-formatted, which a Mac reads but cannot write until reformatted
The description's specification block names the model PRO-T5 and a 3 TB capacity, so part of it belongs to another drive
No transfer rate for the drive itself, only the 5 Gbit/s of the interface
Specifications
Capacity
4 TB — printed in the title and in the first bullet, in the maker’s unit
Portable or desktop format
Not stated as such — the description calls it a portable storage solution, then lists a 12 V, 2 A mains adapter and an 8 × 5 × 1.6 in body, which is a desktop enclosure; the fifth bullet names a refurbished 7200 rpm enterprise mechanism
USB generation
USB 3.0 — printed in the title and named in the first and second bullets
Stated link rate
5.0 Gbit/s — given in the description's specification block as the USB data speed, which is the interface rather than the drive
Connector type
Not published on the listing
Power source
Mains adapter — the description gives 100–240 V input and 12 V, 2 A output, with the adapter in the box
Stated dimensions
8 × 5 × 1.6 in (203 × 127 × 41 mm) — given in the description's specification block
Weight
1,361 g (48 oz)
Cable supplied
A USB 3.0 cable and a power adapter — listed in the description's package contents
Warranty length
Two years — printed in the title
Amazon reference
B0F98MM59W
EAN
0810064876028
On Amazon.com
Amazon.com listed it on October 26, 2026, but no current offer passed our price check, so no price is quoted.
Where this unit differs
Put against the median of its own group on this site — not against every network product sold.
Stated dimensions8 × 5 × 1.6 in (203 × 127 × 41 mm) — given in the description's specification block-96 % against the median of this group
Weight1,361 g (48 oz)+16 % against the median of this group
The questions that come up before an order
What does renewed mean here?
The fifth bullet says the case is new and the mechanism inside is a refurbished enterprise drive running at 7200 rpm, from an unnamed leading manufacturer, tested to zero bad sectors. The Intenso on this shelf is refurbished too, and says so in its own bullets.
Will it work with a Mac?
The listing sells it for Windows and the description says it arrives pre-formatted as NTFS. macOS reads NTFS but does not write to it; reformatting the empty drive for the Mac takes a few minutes and loses nothing.
The buyer this one serves, among network and storage gear
A buyer who would rather know the mechanism is enterprise than that it is new
What this one costs among network and storage gear
Details checked on October 26, 2026.
Sources
Specifications: the manufacturer sheet for network and storage gear and the matching Amazon product page. Prices and availability: Keepa. Every figure on this page names its source.
1 TB · 2.5-inch portable · refurbished drive in a new enclosure, tested in Vechta, Germany · USB 3.2 Gen 1 (5 Gbps) · 85 MB/s read, 75 MB/s write · 5 × 3 × 0.5 in
A refurbished 1 TB portable drive, tested by Intenso in Germany and fitted in a new enclosure, rated 85 MB/s read and 75 MB/s write over USB 3.2 Gen 1, at $82.58. That is about $83 per terabyte.
Best for: A small, bus-powered drive for a second copy of documents and photos that fit in 1 TB.
4 TB · portable · USB-C · USB 3.2 Gen 1 and Gen 2 and Thunderbolt 3 listed · shock, water and pressure resistance claimed · three-year warranty · one cable in, one out
A four-terabyte portable drive that lists five interface standards it works with, names the cable in the box and the cable that is not, and publishes a three-year warranty.
Best for: A drive that leaves the desk and goes into a bag on a site or a shoot, where the protective claims and the published warranty are the reason to pay more.
6 TB · titled desktop, described as portable in the second bullet · USB 3.0 · connector not published · power source not published · no rate published · 178 × 41 × 124 mm (7.01 × 1.61 × 4.88 in), published in the title · 1,176 g (41.5 oz) · no cable, no warranty
Six terabytes with its dimensions in the title and its power supply in the box — and a listing that calls itself a desktop drive and then calls itself portable.
Best for: Six terabytes that will sit on a desk and stay there