Skip to content

TP-Link TL-SG108, eight-port unmanaged gigabit switch in a metal case review

An unmanaged, fanless eight-port gigabit switch in a metal case with shielded ports, and the only switch with an Amazon.com offer on this shelf whose page states a warranty — limited lifetime protection.

What the Amazon.com listing says

The title: TP-Link TL-SG108, eight-port gigabit, plug and play, fanless, sturdy metal with shielded ports, unmanaged, lifetime protection. The bullets: eight 10/100/1000 Mbps RJ45 sockets; no configuration; a fanless quiet design; a metal housing with shielded ports for heat dissipation and interference; IEEE 802.3x flow control; limited lifetime protection and support; power use that adjusts to link status and cable length; and 24x7 technical support.

The shelf it sits on

SwitchManagedCaseCoolingMountingPowerAmazon.com, October 26, 2026
Tenda SG108unmanagednot statedfanlessdesk or wallnot stated$9.99
TP-Link TL-SG108unmanagedmetalfanlessnot statednot stated$19.99
D-Link DGS-108not statedmetalnot statednot statednot stated$29.99
NETGEAR GS308unmanagedmetal in the title, plastic in a bulletfanlessdesk or wallnot statedno offer
Zyxel GS-108B v5unmanagedmetal“silent”table or wallnot statedno offer
UGREEN 8-portnot statednot statednot statednot statedadapter suppliedno offer
STRONG SW8000Pplug and play, management software claimedplastic“a few fans”desk or wallmains plug suppliedno offer

All seven have eight gigabit RJ45 sockets, and none states a switching capacity.

Note on the NETGEAR GS308

The GS308 states three years of warranty on its Amazon.com page, but had no offer on October 26, 2026. Of the three switches with an offer, this is the only one whose page states a term.

The price

$19.99 on October 26, 2026: ten dollars more than the Tenda SG108, ten dollars less than the D-Link DGS-108.

Prices quoted in this text were read on October 26, 2026. The live price is at the top of the page.

Where it holds up, and where it stops

Strengths

  • Metal case with shielded ports, fanless, and unmanaged, all in the title
  • Limited lifetime protection and 24x7 support, the longest term stated on this shelf
  • IEEE 802.3x flow control named
  • $19.99 on Amazon.com on October 26, 2026

Compromises

  • No mounting arrangement named on the US page
  • No power supply and no box contents named
  • No switching capacity

Specifications

Port countEight — stated in the first bullet as eight RJ45 sockets
Port speed10/100/1000 Mbps — stated in the first bullet
Managed or unmanagedUnmanaged — stated in the title; the second bullet says no configuration is required
Stated switching capacityNot published on the Amazon.com listing — no whole-unit figure appears
Fanless or fan-cooledFanless — stated in the title and the third bullet
Case materialMetal, with shielded ports — stated in the title and the fourth bullet
Desktop or rack mountingNot published on the Amazon.com listing — no desk, wall or rack arrangement is named on the US page
Power supply typeNot published on the Amazon.com listing — the seventh bullet describes power use adjusting to link status and cable length, and names no adapter
Amazon referenceB00A121WN6 on Amazon.com; B01EXDG2MO on the European stores
EAN1210002616911
On Amazon.comAmazon.com had an offer at $20 on October 26, 2026.

The questions that come up before an order

What does flow control do?

IEEE 802.3x lets a busy socket ask the sender to pause briefly instead of dropping frames. On a home network it smooths a large copy from a fast machine to a slow one.

What warranty does it have?

Limited lifetime protection with dedicated technical support, stated in the sixth bullet. Of the switches on this shelf, only the NETGEAR GS308 also states a term, three years.

Our score

8.2/ 10

The best-documented of the low-cost switches here: unmanaged, fanless, metal with shielded ports, flow control and a lifetime warranty, for $19.99 on this date. Mounting and power are the lines to look up.

The buyer this one serves, among network and storage gear

A desk or media-cabinet switch meant to run untouched for years, where a metal case and a stated lifetime warranty are worth ten dollars over the cheapest unit.

What this one costs among network and storage gear

A reference exists on these Amazon stores: France, Germany, Italy, Spain, United Kingdom, United States. Listed is not the same as in stock — availability changes daily.

Details checked on October 26, 2026.

The network and storage gear guides it appears in

Sources

Specifications: the manufacturer sheet for network and storage gear and the matching Amazon product page. Prices and availability: Keepa. Every figure on this page names its source.

What we look at on this network and storage gear