Skip to content

D-Link DGS-108, eight-port gigabit switch in a metal case review

An eight-port gigabit switch in a metal case whose Amazon.com bullets are a model number, a package size, a weight and a material, with 802.1p QoS and power saving in the description.

What the Amazon.com listing says

The title: D-Link DGS-108 8-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch. The four bullets: model number DGS-108-1; a package of 9.92 × 8.27 × 2.76 in; a package weight of 1.50 lb; metal. The description adds a robust metal casing, eight 10/100/1000 Mbps ports, IEEE 802.1p QoS, LED indicators for link status and D-Link Green technology to save energy and reduce heat.

The shelf it sits on

SwitchManagedCaseCoolingMountingPowerAmazon.com, October 26, 2026
Tenda SG108unmanagednot statedfanlessdesk or wallnot stated$9.99
TP-Link TL-SG108unmanagedmetalfanlessnot statednot stated$19.99
D-Link DGS-108not statedmetalnot statednot statednot stated$29.99
NETGEAR GS308unmanagedmetal in the title, plastic in a bulletfanlessdesk or wallnot statedno offer
Zyxel GS-108B v5unmanagedmetal“silent”table or wallnot statedno offer
UGREEN 8-portnot statednot statednot statednot statedadapter suppliedno offer
STRONG SW8000Pplug and play, management software claimedplastic“a few fans”desk or wallmains plug suppliedno offer

All seven have eight gigabit RJ45 sockets, and none states a switching capacity.

What is not on the page

Whether it has a fan, how it mounts, how it is powered and whether it is managed. On a $29.99 switch these are the questions the TP-Link and Tenda pages answer, at lower prices.

The price

$29.99 on Amazon.com on October 26, 2026, against $19.99 for the TP-Link TL-SG108 and $9.99 for the Tenda SG108.

Prices quoted in this text were read on October 26, 2026. The live price is at the top of the page.

Where it holds up, and where it stops

Strengths

  • Metal case, stated twice
  • IEEE 802.1p QoS for prioritized traffic
  • D-Link Green power saving, described as reducing heat

Compromises

  • Four bullets that are metadata: a model number, a package size, a package weight and a material
  • No cooling, mounting or power supply named
  • $29.99 on Amazon.com on October 26, 2026, the dearest of the three switches with an offer

Specifications

Port countEight — stated in the title and the description, as 10/100/1000 Mbps ports
Port speed10/100/1000 Mbps — stated in the description
Managed or unmanagedNot published on the Amazon.com listing as either word — the description names IEEE 802.1p QoS, which prioritizes tagged traffic without a settings page
Stated switching capacityNot published on the Amazon.com listing — no whole-unit figure appears
Fanless or fan-cooledNot published on the Amazon.com listing — no fan and no fanless design is named
Case materialMetal — stated in the fourth bullet and the description
Desktop or rack mountingNot published on the Amazon.com listing — no mounting arrangement is named
Power supply typeNot published on the Amazon.com listing — the description names D-Link Green power saving and no adapter
Amazon referenceB007HZCM9S on Amazon.com and the other European stores; B000BCC0LO on Amazon.de
EAN0071020061210
On Amazon.comAmazon.com had an offer at $30 on October 26, 2026.

The questions that come up before an order

Is it managed?

The page does not say either way. It names IEEE 802.1p QoS, which acts on priority tags set by the devices, and no settings page or software.

Is it fanless?

The Amazon.com listing does not say. The TP-Link TL-SG108 and the Tenda SG108 on this shelf state fanless designs.

Our score

7.2/ 10

A metal-cased gigabit switch sold on a page that says very little: QoS and power saving in the description, nothing about cooling, mounting or power. At $29.99 on this date it costs more than the better-documented TP-Link TL-SG108.

The buyer this one serves, among network and storage gear

A buyer who already knows the DGS-108 and wants a metal-cased unmanaged-style switch with 802.1p QoS.

What this one costs among network and storage gear

A reference exists on these Amazon stores: France, Germany, Italy, Spain, United Kingdom, United States. Listed is not the same as in stock — availability changes daily.

Details checked on October 26, 2026.

The network and storage gear guides it appears in

Sources

Specifications: the manufacturer sheet for network and storage gear and the matching Amazon product page. Prices and availability: Keepa. Every figure on this page names its source.

What we look at on this network and storage gear