Skip to content

NETGEAR GS308, eight-port unmanaged gigabit switch review

An unmanaged, fanless eight-port gigabit switch whose Amazon.com page states a three-year warranty and wire-speed switching, and calls its case sturdy metal in the title and plastic in a bullet.

Buying it in the United States

Amazon.com listed it on October 26, 2026, but no current offer passed our price check, so no price is quoted. The Amazon.com page exists, but nobody was selling the unit; a listing in that state is often a third-party import.

Models on this shelf that Amazon.com did sell on that date:

What the Amazon.com listing says

The title: NETGEAR GS308-100PAS, eight-port gigabit, unmanaged, desktop, sturdy metal, fanless, plug and play. The bullets: no software to install; desk or wall mounting; silent fanless operation; a three-year limited hardware warranty; energy efficiency, with IEEE 802.3az on “most models”; reliability testing; eight gigabit ports; auto-MDI/MDIX; Windows and Mac plug and play; wire-speed, non-blocking switching; auto-negotiation; and, last, plastic enclosure.

The shelf it sits on

SwitchManagedCaseCoolingMountingPowerAmazon.com, October 26, 2026
Tenda SG108unmanagednot statedfanlessdesk or wallnot stated$9.99
TP-Link TL-SG108unmanagedmetalfanlessnot statednot stated$19.99
D-Link DGS-108not statedmetalnot statednot statednot stated$29.99
NETGEAR GS308unmanagedmetal in the title, plastic in a bulletfanlessdesk or wallnot statedno offer
Zyxel GS-108B v5unmanagedmetal“silent”table or wallnot statedno offer
UGREEN 8-portnot statednot statednot statednot statedadapter suppliedno offer
STRONG SW8000Pplug and play, management software claimedplastic“a few fans”desk or wallmains plug suppliedno offer

All seven have eight gigabit RJ45 sockets, and none states a switching capacity.

Metal or plastic

The title and the description say metal; one bullet says plastic. The European listing for the same switch describes a metal case. Ask the seller before ordering if the case matters, for instance to mount it on a wall near a heat source.

Availability

Amazon.com listed the GS308 on October 26, 2026, but no current offer passed our price check, so no price is quoted.

Prices quoted in this text were read on October 26, 2026. The live price is at the top of the page.

Where it holds up, and where it stops

Strengths

  • A three-year limited hardware warranty, stated
  • Unmanaged, fanless and non-blocking, all stated
  • Desk or wall mounting

Compromises

  • The case is metal in the title and plastic in a bullet
  • 802.3az is promised for "most models", not this one
  • No current Amazon.com offer passed our price check on October 26, 2026

Specifications

Port countEight — stated in the title and a bullet
Port speedGigabit, with auto-negotiation and auto-MDI/MDIX — stated in the bullets, with wire-speed throughput from a non-blocking switching architecture
Managed or unmanagedUnmanaged — stated in the title; plug and play with no software to install
Stated switching capacityNot published on the Amazon.com listing as a figure — a bullet claims maximum throughput at wire speed with a non-blocking architecture, without a number
Fanless or fan-cooledFanless — stated in the title and twice in the bullets
Case materialContradictory — the title and the description say sturdy metal, and the last bullet says plastic enclosure
Desktop or rack mountingDesk or wall — stated in the second bullet
Power supply typeNot published on the Amazon.com listing — no adapter is named. Energy-efficient operation is claimed, and IEEE 802.3az is said to apply to most models rather than to this one
Amazon referenceB00KFD0SEA on Amazon.com (GS308-100PAS); B07PTTX7MX on the European stores
EAN0606449140149
On Amazon.comAmazon.com listed it on October 26, 2026, but no current offer passed our price check, so no price is quoted.

The questions that come up before an order

Is the case metal or plastic?

The page says both: sturdy metal in the title and description, plastic enclosure in the last bullet. The product record lists a weight of 454 g (16 oz).

What does non-blocking mean?

That the switch can carry every socket at full speed at once. The page claims it without giving the total in gigabits per second.

Our score

7.8/ 10

A plain unmanaged switch with the useful lines stated — fanless, non-blocking, desk or wall, three years of warranty — and one contradiction about its case. Amazon.com listed no offer that passed our check on this date.

The buyer this one serves, among network and storage gear

A desk or wall-mounted unmanaged switch where a three-year warranty is wanted, once an offer is listed again.

What this one costs among network and storage gear

A reference exists on these Amazon stores: France, Germany, Italy, Spain, United States. Listed is not the same as in stock — availability changes daily.

Details checked on October 26, 2026.

What buyers actually choose

Amazon reports what buyers took in the month before this page was last checked: at least 1,000.

The figure is a floor, rounded by Amazon, and read through Keepa — it says what buyers picked, not what a maker claims.

Sources

Specifications: the manufacturer sheet for network and storage gear and the matching Amazon product page. Prices and availability: Keepa. Every figure on this page names its source.

What we look at on this network and storage gear