Skip to content

Tenda SG108, eight-port unmanaged gigabit switch review

The cheapest switch on this shelf at $9.99 on Amazon.com on October 26, 2026: eight gigabit sockets, unmanaged and fanless in a 124 × 59 × 23 mm body, with no case material and no power supply named.

What the Amazon.com listing says

The title gives a Tenda 8-port gigabit switch, unmanaged. The bullets: eight 10/100/1000 Mbps RJ45 sockets with auto MDI/MDIX and auto-negotiation, up to 2000 Mbps in full duplex; a 124 × 59 × 23 mm body; plug and play; desk or wall mounting; and a fanless design. The description reads “tenda ethernet splitter”.

The shelf it sits on

SwitchManagedCaseCoolingMountingPowerAmazon.com, October 26, 2026
Tenda SG108unmanagednot statedfanlessdesk or wallnot stated$9.99
TP-Link TL-SG108unmanagedmetalfanlessnot statednot stated$19.99
D-Link DGS-108not statedmetalnot statednot statednot stated$29.99
NETGEAR GS308unmanagedmetal in the title, plastic in a bulletfanlessdesk or wallnot statedno offer
Zyxel GS-108B v5unmanagedmetal“silent”table or wallnot statedno offer
UGREEN 8-portnot statednot statednot statednot statedadapter suppliedno offer
STRONG SW8000Pplug and play, management software claimedplastic“a few fans”desk or wallmains plug suppliedno offer

All seven have eight gigabit RJ45 sockets, and none states a switching capacity.

What 2000 Mbps counts

A gigabit socket carries 1000 Mbps each way at the same time. Adding the two directions gives 2000; no file copies at that speed.

The price

$9.99 on October 26, 2026, the lowest on this shelf — half the TP-Link TL-SG108, which states a metal case and a lifetime warranty.

Prices quoted in this text were read on October 26, 2026. The live price is at the top of the page.

Where it holds up, and where it stops

Strengths

  • $9.99 on Amazon.com on October 26, 2026, the lowest price on this shelf
  • Unmanaged and fanless, both stated
  • Small, 124 × 59 × 23 mm, for desk or wall

Compromises

  • No case material and no power supply named
  • No switching capacity; the 2000 Mbps figure is one socket's two directions added
  • The description is three words

Specifications

Port countEight — stated in the title and counted in the first bullet as eight RJ45 sockets
Port speed10/100/1000 Mbps with auto MDI/MDIX and auto-negotiation — stated in the first bullet, which also quotes up to 2000 Mbps in full duplex: the two directions of one gigabit link added together
Managed or unmanagedUnmanaged — stated in the title; the third bullet says no configuration is required
Stated switching capacityNot published on the Amazon.com listing — no whole-unit figure appears
Fanless or fan-cooledFanless — stated in the fifth bullet, for silent running
Case materialNot published on the Amazon.com listing — the second bullet gives the size, 124 × 59 × 23 mm (4.88 × 2.32 × 0.91 in), and not the material
Desktop or rack mountingDesk or wall — stated in the fourth bullet; no rack ears are named
Power supply typeNot published on the Amazon.com listing — no adapter and no box contents appear
Amazon referenceB09M2YHXRV
EAN6932849436297
On Amazon.comAmazon.com had an offer at $10 on October 26, 2026.

The questions that come up before an order

What does up to 2000 Mbps mean?

One gigabit socket in full duplex, counting 1000 Mbps in each direction at once. No single transfer runs faster than a gigabit.

Does it need setting up?

No. The title says unmanaged and the third bullet says no configuration is required: cables go in and it switches.

Our score

7.8/ 10

Eight fanless gigabit sockets for under ten dollars, with the size and the mounting stated. The case material and the power supply are the two lines it leaves out.

The buyer this one serves, among network and storage gear

Adding sockets behind a router or a TV cabinet at the lowest price, where a fanless unit and a small footprint matter.

What this one costs among network and storage gear

A reference exists on these Amazon stores: France, Germany, Italy, Spain, United Kingdom, United States. Listed is not the same as in stock — availability changes daily.

Details checked on October 26, 2026.

The network and storage gear guides it appears in

Sources

Specifications: the manufacturer sheet for network and storage gear and the matching Amazon product page. Prices and availability: Keepa. Every figure on this page names its source.

What we look at on this network and storage gear