Skip to content

TP-Link Deco XE75 two-pack, 6 GHz dedicated to the link between nodes by default review

A listing that publishes a band dedicated to the link between its nodes — the 6 GHz band, by default — and the only one here that makes it switchable to serving devices instead.

The second bullet contains the sentence this whole shelf is organized around: “The 6 GHz band can work as a backhaul for stable connections between nodes by default. Switch to Wi-Fi mode and connect your WiFi 6E devices to the 6GHz Network.”

The intro to this section says the link between nodes decides coverage and never the headline number. In a two-band mesh system that link shares the 5 GHz band with every device using it, so each hop costs throughput twice — once carrying the traffic and once carrying it again to the next node. A third band set aside for the link removes that, and this page states both that the band is set aside by default and that the default can be changed. Twelve listings now sit on this shelf and this is the only one that publishes the arrangement as a choice.

The third bullet publishes the class figure and its terms: AXE5400 as 2402 Mbps on 6 GHz at HE160, 2402 Mbps on 5 GHz at HE160, and 574 Mbps on 2.4 GHz. Two four-hundred-and-two plus two four-hundred-and-two plus five seventy-four is 5,378, which rounds to 5,400. The arithmetic holds and the channel width is named on both of the fast bands. The second bullet adds why the 6 GHz band is quiet: it carries no legacy devices, because only Wi-Fi 6E equipment can use it.

Five thousand five hundred square feet across two nodes is about 2,750 each, stated in the first bullet, with 200 devices in the third. Two nodes covering what the three-node AC system on this shelf covers is the newer radios and the dedicated link doing the work together.

What the page does not publish is the socket count. Not per node, not in total, not a speed. The two other Deco listings on this shelf both give the figure both ways — three per node and six in all, two per node and six in all — and this one gives neither. On a system whose 6 GHz band is reserved for the nodes, the wired sockets are what everything else plugs into, and the omission is the most consequential on the page.

The sixth bullet gives AI-driven mesh learning the network and the client behavior; the seventh setup through the Deco application with Alexa control of the guest network. The eighth itemizes the free HomeShield features, five of them numbered: a network security scan, basic parental controls, quality of service, weekly and monthly reports, and IoT device identification. Five named free features is two more than the Deco X55 on this shelf lists.

At 1,220 g (43 oz) for the pair — 610 g (21.5 oz) a node — and 105 by 105 by 169 mm (6.65 in), and $149.99 on Amazon.com on October 26, 2026, it sits in the middle of this shelf’s prices. The description writes “ATandT” where it means AT&T.

Prices quoted in this text were read on October 26, 2026. The live price is at the top of the page.

Where it holds up, and where it stops

Strengths

  • One of three systems here that dedicate a band to the link between nodes, with the Orbi 770 and the Cudy M11000, and the only one that says the default can be changed
  • Three bands with all three figures published and the 160 MHz channel width named on both fast ones
  • The class figure arithmetic holds: 2402 plus 2402 plus 574 is 5,378 against a 5,400 label
  • Explains why the 6 GHz band is quiet — no legacy device can use it — rather than just naming it
  • Five free security features itemized, two more than the other Wi-Fi 6 Deco on this shelf lists
  • Two nodes cover what a three-node system on this shelf covers

Compromises

  • No Ethernet socket counted anywhere — not per node, not in total, and no speed — where both other Deco listings here publish both figures
  • No IEEE clause number, so 802.11ax has to be inferred
  • Using the 6 GHz band for devices means giving up the dedicated link, which the page states as a switch rather than as a cost
  • Which of the two nodes takes the router role is not stated
  • The description writes "ATandT" where it means AT&T

Specifications

Wi-Fi generationWi-Fi 6E — stated in the title and in the first, second and fifth bullets, with the fifth explaining that the 6 GHz band is available only to Wi-Fi 6E equipment
IEEE designationNot published on the listing — no clause number appears, although HE160 in the third bullet is an 802.11ax term
Stated class figureAXE5400, broken into its three terms — the third bullet gives 2402 Mbps on 6 GHz at HE160, 2402 Mbps on 5 GHz at HE160 and 574 Mbps on 2.4 GHz, which sums to 5,378 and rounds to the label. The arithmetic holds and the channel width is named on both fast bands
Band planThree bands, all published with figures — 6 GHz and 5 GHz both at 2402 Mbps with a 160 MHz channel width, and 2.4 GHz at 574 Mbps, stated in the third bullet
Backhaul typeA dedicated 6 GHz band by default, switchable — the second bullet states that the 6 GHz band works as a backhaul for stable connections between nodes by default, and that switching to Wi-Fi mode makes it available to Wi-Fi 6E devices instead. It is the only listing on this shelf to publish the arrangement, and the only one to publish that it is a choice
Node countTwo — stated in the title and throughout
Pack compositionTwo identical units — stated in the title as a two-pack. Which unit takes the router role is not stated, unlike the other two Deco listings on this shelf
Stated coverage areaUp to 5,500 square feet — stated in the first bullet for the two units, which is about 2,750 a node. That is what the three-node AC system on this shelf covers with one node more
Ethernet port countNot published on the listing — no socket is counted per node or in total, in the title, the nine bullets or the description. The two other Deco listings on this shelf publish the figure both ways
Port speedNot published on the listing — with no socket counted, none is given a rate
Separate WAN socketNot published on the listing — no socket of any kind is described, so whether one is reserved for the modem is unstated
Amazon referenceB09VW5JHPH
EAN0840030707131
On Amazon.comAmazon.com had an offer at $150 on October 26, 2026.

The questions that come up before an order

What does a dedicated backhaul band actually do?

It gives the nodes a frequency of their own to talk on. In a two-band system the link shares the 5 GHz band with devices, so each hop costs throughput twice. The second bullet states that the 6 GHz band carries the link by default.

Can I use the 6 GHz band for my devices instead?

Yes, and the second bullet says so: switching to Wi-Fi mode lets Wi-Fi 6E devices connect to the 6 GHz network. The link between nodes then returns to sharing the 5 GHz band.

How many Ethernet sockets are there?

The page does not say, in any form. No socket is counted per node or in total and none is given a speed, which on a system reserving a band for the nodes is the figure most worth having.

Against the rest of the network and storage gear

This network and storage gear share the category and the price bracket. Only what each one states is shown; an incomplete column would mislead.

Model Price Wi-Fi generationIEEE designationStated class figureBand plan
TP-Link Deco XE75 two-pack, 6 GHz dedicated to the link between nodes by default $150 Wi-Fi 6E — stated in the title and in the first, second and fifth bullets, with the fifth explaining that the 6 GHz band is available only to Wi-Fi 6E equipmentNot published on the listing — no clause number appears, although HE160 in the third bullet is an 802.11ax termAXE5400, broken into its three terms — the third bullet gives 2402 Mbps on 6 GHz at HE160, 2402 Mbps on 5 GHz at HE160 and 574 Mbps on 2.4 GHz, which sums to 5,378 and rounds to the label. The arithmetic holds and the channel width is named on both fast bandsThree bands, all published with figures — 6 GHz and 5 GHz both at 2402 Mbps with a 160 MHz channel width, and 2.4 GHz at 574 Mbps, stated in the third bullet
Cudy M11000, BE11000 tri-band Wi-Fi 7 node sold singly $130 Wi-Fi 7 — stated in the title and in the first bullet, alongside MLO and 4K-QAMNot published on the listing — the generation is named by number only, and no 802.11 letter pair is printed anywhere in the five bulletsBE11000 — stated in the title. The bullet publishes all three parts: 5765 Mbit/s on 6 GHz, 4324 Mbit/s on 5 GHz and 688 Mbit/s on 2.4 GHz, which come to 10,777 Mbit/s, so the badge is rounded up by 223Tri-band with all three named and rated — 6 GHz at 5765 Mbit/s, 5 GHz at 4324 Mbit/s and 2.4 GHz at 688 Mbit/s, with MLO and 4K-QAM
TP-Link Deco X55 two-pack, three gigabit sockets on every node $120 Wi-Fi 6 — stated in the title and in the first and second bulletsNot published on the listing — neither 802.11ax nor any other clause number appears, although HE160 in the first bullet is an 802.11ax termAX3000, broken into its terms — the first bullet gives 2×2 with HE160 at 2402 Mbps plus 2×2 at 574 Mbps, which sums to 2976 and rounds to the label. HE160 is the 160 MHz channel width that the larger figure depends onTwo bands, both published — 2402 Mbps on the 5 GHz band at a 160 MHz channel width and 574 Mbps on 2.4 GHz, stated in the first bullet with two streams on each
TP-Link Deco S4 three-pack, AC1900 with no generation named $96 Not published on the listing — neither Wi-Fi 5 nor any generation name appears in the title, the eight bullets or the description. AC1900 is the only designation, and the AC prefix is a clue rather than a statementNot published on the listing — neither 802.11ac nor any other clause number appears anywhere on the pageAC1900, with a three-by-three six-stream arrangement — stated in the fourth bullet, printed there as "3× 3 6 Stream". The figure is the theoretical sum of the radios and the page does not break it into bandsNot published on the listing — no per-band figure appears, so the AC1900 label is given without the 5 GHz and 2.4 GHz halves that make it. Most of the newer systems on this shelf publish theirs

What separates the models, in network and storage gear

  • If price decides: TP-Link Deco S4 three-pack, AC1900 with no generation named, at $96.

The buyer this one serves, among network and storage gear

Two floors where the nodes cannot be cabled to each other, and the 6 GHz band doing that job is the whole reason to buy.

What this one costs among network and storage gear

Details checked on October 26, 2026.

The network and storage gear guides it appears in

What buyers actually choose

Amazon reports what buyers took in the month before this page was last checked: at least 1,000.

The figure is a floor, rounded by Amazon, and read through Keepa — it says what buyers picked, not what a maker claims.

Sources

Specifications: the manufacturer sheet for network and storage gear and the matching Amazon product page. Prices and availability: Keepa. Every figure on this page names its source.

What we look at on this network and storage gear