Skip to content

Eaton 5S700G, 230 V and six IEC C13 sockets — on an American listing review

A 230-volt European unit with six IEC C13 sockets, sold on an American shop — and the only listing on this shelf with a screen, a Linux-capable shutdown client and an idle-peripheral cut-off.

Read the voltage before anything else. The first bullet gives automatic voltage regulation stabilizing a 175 to 275 V input, and six IEC C13 outlets. The description gives an AC input range of 175 to 275 V at 46 to 70 Hz. That is a 230-volt unit.

American mains is nominally 120 V, and an American wall socket is a NEMA pattern rather than the C14 inlet this unit expects. A 230 V UPS plugged into 120 V sits far below its regulation window; the IEC C13 outlets will not take a NEMA plug without a lead for each device. This is a European product on an American shop, and nothing in the title says so. Every other unit on this shelf has NEMA outlets for a 120 V wall; this one publishes IEC C13 at 230 V, which is the connector a rack-mounted computer uses rather than the one a wall has.

Set that aside and the specification is the most complete in this group. Line-interactive, stated in the title and the first bullet. Seven hundred volt-amperes and four hundred and twenty watts, a ratio of 0.60. The regulation window is published and it is wide — a hundred volts of span, where the Tripp Lite AVR900U publishes fifty-six.

The third bullet gives a front LCD showing load level, battery time, voltage and an event log, with audible alarms. Seven units sit on this shelf and this is the only screen among them: a battery time that is read off the unit rather than estimated from a bullet, and a log of what has happened, is a different kind of information from a runtime figure in an advertisement. The page publishes no runtime at any named load, which on a unit with a battery-time display is a defensible omission rather than a gap.

The fourth bullet gives a USB interface with Eaton UPS Companion software for automated shutdown, scheduled backups, event notifications and firmware updates, and names Windows, macOS and Linux. The Tripp Lite AVR900U publishes a USB port and its software too; this is the only listing here that names Linux, which on a unit sold for network storage and servers is the system most likely to be at the other end of the cable.

The second bullet gives EcoControl, which cuts power to idle peripherals and claims up to 30 per cent energy saving, and a fanless design. No other listing on this shelf has either: a switched-off peripheral socket, or a statement that there is no fan to hear. The fifth adds RJ45 surge protection for Ethernet, DSL and PoE lines, which one American unit here also offers for Ethernet and coaxial.

The description adds a cold-start capability — running from battery with no mains present — and a three-year warranty, stated in the title.

At $195.62 on October 26, 2026, from third-party sellers, it was the third-highest price on this shelf — and the voltage is the first thing to settle before the price matters at all.

Prices quoted in this text were read on October 26, 2026. The live price is at the top of the page.

Where it holds up, and where it stops

Strengths

  • The only listing on this shelf with a front screen: load level, battery time, voltage and an event log, read from the unit rather than promised in a bullet
  • The only one that names Linux among the systems its shutdown software supports, on a unit sold for network storage and servers
  • Publishes the widest regulation window on this shelf, 175 to 275 V, against 56 volts on the Tripp Lite AVR900U
  • EcoControl cuts power to idle peripherals with a stated saving, and the design is fanless — neither appears anywhere else on this shelf
  • RJ45 surge protection for Ethernet, DSL and PoE, with a cold-start capability and a three-year warranty

Compromises

  • A 230 V unit with IEC C13 outlets sold on an American shop, where the mains is 120 V and the wall socket is a NEMA pattern — nothing in the title says so
  • Every device needs its own C13 lead, since no NEMA outlet exists on the unit
  • No output waveform, no battery chemistry and no replacement part named
  • No runtime at a named load, although the display gives a battery time once it is running
  • Whether any of the six outlets is surge-only is not stated

Specifications

TopologyLine-interactive — stated in the title and in the first bullet, which is the topology that makes voltage regulation possible. The Smart-UPS and the Tripp Lite AVR900U on this shelf are line-interactive too
Stated classificationNot published on the listing — no IEC classification and no VFD, VI or VFI designation appears, although the line-interactive topology and the published window describe the behavior
VA rating700 VA — stated in the title and in the first bullet
Watt rating420 W — stated in the title and in the first bullet, which puts the ratio at 0.60
Stated runtime at a named loadNot published on the listing — no figure at any load appears. The third bullet gives a battery time on the front display instead, which is read from the unit rather than estimated in advance
Output waveformNot published on the listing — neither a sine wave nor a stepped approximation is named in the title, the five bullets or the description
Socket countSix — stated in the title and in the first bullet as six IEC C13 outlets, supporting computers, network storage, routers and servers. Whether any are surge-only is not stated
Socket typeIEC C13, at 230 V — stated in the title and in the first bullet, with the description giving an AC input range of 175 to 275 V at 46 to 70 Hz. American mains is nominally 120 V and an American wall socket is a NEMA pattern, so this is a European unit on an American shop and each device will need a C13 lead
Battery typeNot published on the listing — no chemistry, no voltage and no capacity in ampere-hours appears
Battery replaceabilityNot published on the listing — no replacement cartridge and no part number is named, where four American units on this shelf name theirs
Communication portUSB, with the software and three operating systems named — the fourth bullet gives Eaton UPS Companion for automated shutdown, scheduled backups, event notifications and firmware updates on Windows, macOS and Linux. It is the only listing on this shelf that names Linux
Amazon referenceB0FPJ7KHC1
EAN0199240467060
On Amazon.comAmazon.com had an offer at $196 on October 26, 2026.

Where this unit differs

Put against the median of its own group on this site — not against every network product sold.

  • VA rating700 VA — stated in the title and in the first bullet-22 % against the median of this group
  • Watt rating420 W — stated in the title and in the first bullet, which puts the ratio at 0.60-22 % against the median of this group

The questions that come up before an order

Will it work on an American wall socket?

Not as it stands. The first bullet and the description give a 230 V unit regulating a 175 to 275 V input, and American mains is nominally 120 V. The outlets are IEC C13 rather than NEMA, so each device would also need its own lead.

What does the screen show?

Load level, battery time, voltage and an event log, stated in the third bullet, with audible alarms. It is the only screen on this shelf.

Does it support Linux?

Yes. The fourth bullet names Windows, macOS and Linux for the Eaton UPS Companion software. No other listing on this shelf names Linux at all.

What is EcoControl?

A function that cuts power to idle peripherals, claimed at up to 30 per cent energy saving in the second bullet. Nothing else on this shelf offers it.

Against the rest of the network and storage gear

This network and storage gear share the category and the price bracket. Only what each one states is shown; an incomplete column would mislead.

Model Price TopologyStated classificationVA ratingWatt rating
Eaton 5S700G, 230 V and six IEC C13 sockets — on an American listing $196 Line-interactive — stated in the title and in the first bullet, which is the topology that makes voltage regulation possible. The Smart-UPS and the Tripp Lite AVR900U on this shelf are line-interactive tooNot published on the listing — no IEC classification and no VFD, VI or VFI designation appears, although the line-interactive topology and the published window describe the behavior700 VA — stated in the title and in the first bullet420 W — stated in the title and in the first bullet, which puts the ratio at 0.60
APC BX1350M, 54 minutes at 100 W and the only efficiency figure on this shelf $205 Not published on the listing — no standby, line-interactive or online designation appears, although the voltage regulation described in the fourth bullet is line-interactive behavior. Back-UPS Pro is a range nameNot published on the listing — no IEC classification and no VFD, VI or VFI designation appears anywhere1350 VA — stated in the title and in the first bullet810 W — stated in the title and in the first bullet, which puts the ratio at 0.60
Tripp Lite BC850RNC, cloud alerts by email or text and configuration over NFC $175 Standby — stated in the description as a standby UPS system. The mains passes straight through and the unit intervenes only on failure, so there is no voltage regulation. The APC BE900G3 is the other standby unit named as such on this shelfNot published on the listing — no IEC classification and no VFD, VI or VFI designation appears, although the standby topology describes the same behavior850 VA — stated in the title and in the first bullet450 W — stated in the title and in the first bullet, which puts the ratio at 0.53
APC BE900G3, a 6 ms transfer time and USB-C charging on the front $164 Standby — named in the description, which calls the BE900G3 a compact standby UPS; the title and bullets leave it outNot published on the listing — no IEC classification and no VFD, VI or VFI designation appears anywhere900 VA — stated in the title and in the first bullet. It is the figure on the box rather than the load the unit will carry540 W — stated in the title and in the first bullet alongside the VA figure, which puts the ratio at 0.60

What separates the models, in network and storage gear

  • If price decides: APC BE900G3, a 6 ms transfer time and USB-C charging on the front, at $164.
  • Highest VA rating in the table: APC BX1350M, 54 minutes at 100 W and the only efficiency figure on this shelf (1350 VA — stated in the title and in the first bullet).
  • Highest Watt rating in the table: APC BX1350M, 54 minutes at 100 W and the only efficiency figure on this shelf (810 W — stated in the title and in the first bullet, which puts the ratio at 0.60).

The buyer this one serves, among network and storage gear

A 230-volt installation — not an American wall socket — where a screen, an event log and Linux shutdown support are the reasons to choose it.

What this one costs among network and storage gear

Details checked on October 26, 2026.

Sources

Specifications: the manufacturer sheet for network and storage gear and the matching Amazon product page. Prices and availability: Keepa. Every figure on this page names its source.

What we look at on this network and storage gear