Skip to content

Avolusion PRO-T5, 4 TB, 2-year warranty review

Four terabytes and a two-year warranty for $158.50 on Amazon.com on October 26, 2026, on a listing whose four bullets publish no figure beyond the capacity.

What the Amazon.com listing says

A 4 TB USB 3.0 external hard drive for Windows and Mac, white, with a two-year warranty in the title. The four bullets give the capacity, “fast USB 3.0”, plug-and-play with no software, and a list of things to store. The description adds a sleek, compact design and quiet operation.

The shelf it sits on

DriveCapacityFormatStated ratePowerPrice on Amazon.com, October 26, 2026
Intenso1 TB2.5-inch portable, refurbished mechanism85 MB/s read, 75 MB/s writeover the USB-A cable$82.58
Avolusion PRO-T54 TBnot statednonenot stated$158.50, $39.63 a terabyte
Avolusion PRO-T84 TBrefurbished 7200 rpm enterprise mechanism5 Gbit/s for the interface only12 V, 2 A adapterno offer
Seagate Expansion6 TBdesktopnoneincluded power supply$229.00, $38.17 a terabyte
WD_BLACK D108 TBtitled portable, built as a desktop unitup to 250 MB/s at 7200 rpmnot stated$397.04, $49.63 a terabyte

Thirty-nine dollars a terabyte

At $158.50 on October 26, 2026 it was $39.63 a terabyte, second on this shelf to the Seagate Expansion at $38.17. The two-year warranty is the other line in its favor: three of the five drives here publish no term at all.

The format question, answered only by the carton

Neither the title nor the bullets say desktop or portable, 2.5-inch or 3.5-inch, bus-powered or mains. The recorded weight of 1,361 g (48 oz) is a desktop figure, and a 4 TB drive of that kind needs a mains adapter the listing never mentions.

What is not published

A transfer rate, the connector, the power source and the cable. The renewed PRO-T8 of the same family publishes more about itself — the mechanism grade, the adapter, the dimensions — and had no Amazon.com offer on October 26, 2026.

Prices quoted in this text were read on October 26, 2026. The live price is at the top of the page.

Where it holds up, and where it stops

Strengths

  • A two-year warranty in the title, where the Intenso, the Seagate and the WD_BLACK publish no term
  • Sold for both Windows and Mac, unlike its PRO-T8 stablemate
  • $39.63 a terabyte on Amazon.com on October 26, 2026, second only to the Seagate Expansion on this shelf

Compromises

  • Four bullets and one number: no format, rate, connector, power source or cable
  • Nothing says whether it is a desktop or a portable drive, although the recorded 1,361 g (48 oz) suggests a desktop enclosure
  • No transfer rate of any kind

Specifications

Capacity4 TB — printed in the title and in the first bullet, in the maker’s unit
Portable or desktop formatNot published on the listing — neither 2.5-inch nor 3.5-inch and neither portable nor desktop appears. The recorded 1,361 g (48 oz) and 178 × 127 mm (7.01 × 5 in) footprint suggest a desktop enclosure
USB generationUSB 3.0 — printed in the title and named in the second bullet as a high-speed interface
Stated link rateNot published on the listing — no figure in gigabits or megabytes per second appears
Connector typeNot published on the listing — neither the socket on the drive nor the plug at the computer end is named
Power sourceNot published on the listing — no mains adapter and no statement of bus power appears
Stated dimensionsNot published on the listing — 178 × 127 × 25 mm (7.01 × 5 × 0.98 in) is recorded against the item rather than stated in the text
Weight1,361 g (48 oz)
Cable suppliedNot published on the listing — no cable appears among the stated contents, on a drive described as plug and play
Warranty lengthTwo years — printed in the title. The PRO-T8 also gives two years; the Intenso, the Seagate and the WD_BLACK publish no term
Amazon referenceB0H2NN6RKQ
EAN0810064876394
On Amazon.comAmazon.com had an offer at $159 on October 26, 2026.

Where this unit differs

Put against the median of its own group on this site — not against every network product sold.

  • Stated dimensionsNot published on the listing — 178 × 127 × 25 mm (7.01 × 5 × 0.98 in) is recorded against the item rather than stated in the text+2125 % against the median of this group
  • Weight1,361 g (48 oz)+16 % against the median of this group

The questions that come up before an order

Is it a portable or a desktop drive?

The listing does not say. The recorded 1,361 g (48 oz) and 178 × 127 mm (7.01 × 5 in) footprint point to a desktop enclosure with a 3.5-inch mechanism, which would need a mains adapter the listing never mentions.

How does it compare with the PRO-T8?

Same 4 TB, same USB 3.0, same two-year warranty. The PRO-T8 is sold as Renewed, with a refurbished 7200 rpm enterprise mechanism in a new case, and had no Amazon.com offer on October 26, 2026; this one has a new mechanism and was $158.50 that day.

How fast is it?

Not published. USB 3.0 carries 5 Gbit/s, which is the interface rather than the drive. Of the drives on this shelf, the WD_BLACK publishes 250 MB/s at 7200 rpm and the Intenso 85 MB/s reading and 75 writing; this listing publishes neither.

Against the rest of the network and storage gear

This network and storage gear share the category and the price bracket. Only what each one states is shown; an incomplete column would mislead.

Model Price Capacity
Avolusion PRO-T5, 4 TB, 2-year warranty $159 4 TB — printed in the title and in the first bullet, in the maker’s unit
Verbatim Store ’n’ Go 2 TB, sold on a title and three words $131 2 TB — printed in the title, in the maker’s unit and reported here in that unit
Seagate Portable 4 TB external drive $190 4 TB, in the maker’s decimal unit; a computer shows about 3.6 TB
LaCie Rugged 4 TB, USB-C $210 4 TB — printed in the title, in the maker’s unit and reported here in that unit without conversion

What separates the models, in network and storage gear

  • If price decides: Verbatim Store ’n’ Go 2 TB, sold on a title and three words, at $131.
  • Highest Capacity in the table: LaCie Rugged 4 TB, USB-C (4 TB — printed in the title, in the maker’s unit and reported here in that unit without conversion).

The buyer this one serves, among network and storage gear

Four terabytes with a warranty on a desk, where the details can be checked on the carton.

What this one costs among network and storage gear

Details checked on October 26, 2026.

The network and storage gear guides it appears in

Sources

Specifications: the manufacturer sheet for network and storage gear and the matching Amazon product page. Prices and availability: Keepa. Every figure on this page names its source.

What we look at on this network and storage gear